Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-09-18 - 8:58 p.m.
Saturday Roundup

It was just....an odd day.

Husband's former assistant got married this afternoon. We're sitting in the church, waiting for the ceremony to begin, when who sits next to us but Husband's ex, Transitional Woman.

AKA That Heinous and Rude Bitch.

Reader's Digest version: He dated her before he dated me. SHE dumped HIM, but she's never been anything but rude to me when we have run into each other at Husband's work functions.

She sat down and said "Hi! You guys are the only one here I know, so I'm sitting here".

And we were pleasant the rest of the night.

Freaaaaaky.

Husband said his first thought when she sat down next to him was "Ohhhh God". She and I chatted, very pleasantly. Drama Queen was also at the wedding, in the pew in front of us. She leaned over and said "What in the HELL is SHE doing sitting with you guys??!!"

It was all good. Which was weird.

TW went to pick up her friend for the reception, so we were at the hall quite awhile before they got there. I looked at Husband and said "I never thought I'd see the day where I was looking forward to TW showing up at the party". He said "yeah. I'm checking on the temperature in hell right now".

So. There ya go. We were both The Bigger Person. It had to take some gumption (or stupidity or cluelessness) to sit by us at the church. So I'll give her that. Perhaps functions can be more pleasant from now on.

But I have to admit...the thought crossed my mind a couple of times...."He is sitting here between two women he's slept with. Eeeeuuuw".

The wedding was lovely...gotta love Methodist weddings. Short and to the point. No sermon, no homily, no communion. Just vows and out. The groom started BAWLING when he saw the bride. So I teared up, TW teared up, DQ teared up....we all had the kleenex goin'. He cried at the reception. He cried when we were saying goodbye, and he said "It's just....I look at her....and she's so much more beautiful than anything I deserve".

I hope he always feels that way about her. I told her when we were leaving that even though we'd only been married two years, we'd found those first two years SO easy as far as the adjustment period that everyone talks about...and I said my wish for her is that they would settle into marriage as easily as we have. I don't have advice for anyone...it would be presumptuous. But I do know we've found these past two years much easier than people told us they would be. So I wish that on anyone getting married!

OK.

Other stuff.

In the past 24 hours, I have eaten an entire box of Hostess Cupcakes.

That cannot be good.

Yanno, I would NOT wish substance abuse on anyone. There are members of my family who have struggled with it, and I know how awful it can be.

However. People with drug and alcohol issues are accepted as having "issues" or "a disease". People with food issues are just piggy lazy asses.

This food thing is not of me. My right mind is not there. My intellect is all over the right and wrong and good and bad of this. I KNOW that eating a box of cupcakes is a Bad Idea, just as a druggie knows shooting up is a Bad Idea.

And yet, we both do it.

A generation or three ago, the drunk would be tskd at for being weak willed and having poor character. Likewise a person who was addicted to drugs. They are no longer seen as people with character flaws, but people with food issues are. We just need to "push ourselves away from the table". "Say no" or "Get up of the couch and exercise". With food, it's all still considered a matter of will. It's all about our character flaws and lack of control. So we hate ourselves, and so does the rest of the world.

I don't know what is happening. I was lying in bed and told Husband that I ate the whole box of cupcakes. "I don't know what's going on. I don't know why I can't stop eating".

"Are you eating because you're scared that I don't love you?" he said.

"No." I answered.

I'm stuffing SOME kind of feeling/emotion with the food, I just don't know what.

He asked an interesting question....and one I actually wondered about myself. About 6 weeks ago, I started using the birth control patch...and while I don't believe that "the pill makes you fat" old wives' tale, I gotta wonder if the patch is somehow tied to all this. I mean, there are not enough carbohydrates in the world for me right now. Cake, cookies, bread....bring 'em on. I'm just wondering if it's somehow messing with my chemistry and making me ravenous.

So. I guess no more cupcakes in the house, more healthy foods to snack on, and back to the Y, or walks, or something.

And thanks for the advice in my last food entry....I liked "Pick a day that's not "tomorrow"" As for LA's advice, well, um...that usually makes me want to eat pizza.....

1 comments so far
Pandionna - 2004-09-20 13:23:29
I can only tell you how it works for me: When I snack mindlessly, it's because I'm bored. When I binge, it's because I'm frustrated about something. Could this be coming from your job? The only thing I can suggest is to look back over your diary and try to make a connection--what was going on when it started? Birth control hormones are good for a few pounds of weight, because they do affect metabolism, but I don't know if they affect appetite. I wish I could say what it is that has been working for me. I *thought* it was all the DG stuff, but looking back now, I see that I lost my appetite when I started taking the CVS version of Claritin-D 24-hour. Honestly, I have to force myself to eat most of the time. Not saying you should run out and start taking decongestants, but I am saying I understand how hard it is to grapple with "emotional eating," because I don't think I'd be doing so well if it was just me against the munchies. The DG escapism I have going on may be helping, but more than anything, I think it's the allergy meds. Weird.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here