Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-10-22 - 2:35 p.m.
Where is my door?

OK, people REALLY need to stop talking to me today.

We're mid-drive, and while it's going well, the chaos is getting to me.

But that's not surprising.

Husband's boss (also the best man at our wedding)got fired yesterday. And Husband and I got into a little tiff over it. Because whenever someone gets fired from Husband's stations, I ALWAYS say something mean about the company. They are evil. They aren't Clear Channel, but they ARE evil. Husband, for whatever reason, is SUCH a company man. "why do you always make remarks about how bad the company is? Maybe it's the employee's fault".

I stand by my belief that the company is FUCKING EVIL. Not just regular evil. And one day, my dear, sweet, work twelve hour days and half days on Saturdays husband is going to get it in the shorts from them. He doesn't believe me. But that's how they are.

And we'll have to survive on my crappy job. Which actually pays more than his crappy job, but I like far less than he likes his.

So. Whatever.

I read a thread on a web site about moms who nurse toddlers. I have one word: Eeeeuuuw. I am firmly in the camp that once they eat real food, and have TEETH, for crying out loud, it's not about nutrition any more, it's about something else. Something that I personally find creepy. When I was a kid, it seemed like the goal of moms was to get us independent as fast as possible. Now kids are kepts infants forever. Toilet training isn't happening until 3 and 4 and older. They breast feed long after they can verbalize their desire to do so. They don't learn to dress themselves. Co-worker's son (7) wets the bed, so she puts him in pull ups over night. Hello? You show him where the hamper is and tell him that when he pees the bed, he needs to strip the bed and put clean sheets on.

Of course, I have all the answers, since I have no kids.

Later....

2 comments so far
Michelle - 2003-10-22 16:28:03
I have no kids (of my own) either, so obviously I'm an expert as well. But I do most heartily agree with you. And might I add that I was getting a little worried about you? I had forgotten about the drive. Stay safe (and sane, if possible).
-------------------------------
elgan - 2003-10-23 13:00:08
I do have kids, and I can tell you I was mightily sick of all the well-meaning advice from people whose babies were out of diapers at 18 months, or never wet the bed. I know what it's like to have a kid wet the bed until age 7. Pull ups are the best answer. No 7-year-old can change his own bed, my dear, believe me. And I tried everything! Both my kids were toilet trained after their third birthday, and no amount of cajoling, bribing, punishing, you-name-it, would push up that date. So, don't think that parents are trying to keep their kids babies. Some kids just aren't ready to grow up yet. When (and if) you have your own, you will see there is a whole other story that you haven't heard yet.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here