Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-06-03 - 5:10 p.m.
Condescending online mommies

This is another kid/parent bitch, so you're warned.

Why is it that ANY TIME there's a thread on the 'net (this one is on wedding channel) in which people discuss not completely loving children, the mommies get their nursing bras in a twist and start being downright NASTY?

No one on this thread said "I want to kill all babies". No one said "babies and their breeders are evil". No. The thread is about being....indifferent toward kids, and not appreciating The Knowing Look you get from moms (and REALLY from dads) in public who want you to Worship at the Altar of The Chyuld. And don't TELL me this doesn't happen, because it DOES. I've SEEN the pointed looks, the conversation with the child that's just a leeeeetle too loud and obvious, so as to provoke attention from those nearby.

We indifferent ones were called rude, bad friends, whatever. OK, just last week, I oohed and ahhed over a coworker's ultrasound. I talk preggo talk with her, and ask if I can touch her belly. I have a godson. I look at baby pictures when they're brought in. And if it's the kid of someone I care about, I AM genuinely interested. But when I'm in the grocery, I don't care about your kid. Sorry. Them's the breaks.

When did this child worship start? I don't remember being parented the way so many kids are parented now....with some freakish obsessive adoration. It really seems like some kind of sicko worship sometimes. And I'm telling you, some mommies are just MEAN. They think that because they reproduced, they are more special than the rest of us, and the fruit of their loins is a god, and if you're even INDIFFERENT, you are A Very Bad, Harsh and Sad Person.

So condescending online mommies....screw you. Really. Go worship your kids, and debate attachment parenting vs crying it out. Tsk tsk at all of us bitter childhaters. Because I would rather have my hair set on fire than have your life. Perfect kid or no.

1 comments so far
LA - 2003-06-03 20:42:38
Just tonight at dinner Mike and I were discussing how stupidly kids are parented these days. Between the boiling and scrubbing everything the kid touches (including the kid himself) they've produced a generation with NO immunities whatsoever. The truly appalling lack of disciplne and the resultant BRATS. And apparently the teaching of manners and societal customs is optional. At the Plumbers Ball every year there are youngins (19 and 20 year olds) who have nary a clue about how to dress for a semi-formal, use multiple silverware, or dance in such a way that the partners can converse. The kids have these pained looks as if they were desperately trying to understand how to behave and wished that someone had taught them so they wouldn't look like fools. If someone wants to smile at my kid or make a silly face at him, I'm cool. But I DO NOT go around foisting him on strangers as if he were the new messiah. I wanted kids, but am perfectly fine with those who don't. In fact, far from believing the childless are selfish, I'm pleased they understand themselves well enough to NOT bring a child into the world just because you're "supposed" to. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here