Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-06-04 - 9:52 p.m.
More on moms and ennui

This week is fixin to be a rough one, and I'm not too sure why. I just know I am kind of stressed out and kind of bummed. Perhaps the freakin' 55 degree temperature in JUNE has something to do with it. As I type, our furnace is running. Just where in the HELL is spring?

Got a nice comment from LA after yesterday's entry. And to tell the truth, I was relieved...I was hoping I wouldn't offend her. I know she is a mom, and I was hoping she wouldn't feel like a target of my rant. So I'm glad my rant was taken for what it was...a general rant, applicable to many situations, but not all. So how come so many mommies get SO defensive? In fact...here's how freaky that whole thing ended up being....one of the mommies then started a poll "do you expect people to fawn over your baby?" Of course, most people said "oh, no". THEN....they started dissing those of us who are "non fawners"....and the same group of people who got offended at the idea that some parents foist their kids on people then suggested they go post baby pictures in the "anti" thread to "make us really mad".

Boggle. I mean. Irony, anyone? "Nuh uh, we do NOT show our kids off and force them on people. Here are pictures of them to piss you off".

So. Whatever.

It's interesting to me how online stuff can still have an impact on mood and mindset. I'd be lying if I said my latest round of "you sad childhating bitter person with an empty meaningless life" wasn't bumming me out a little. I mean, these woman don't KNOW me, nor I them. And in other threads, we might get along swimmingly. I guess the wide brush with which they paint us non kid people gets to me. Oh, I know, aren't I doing the same? Perhaps. Perhaps. But the negative stuff I ascribe to parental types, I've seen and experienced for myself. I have yet to see a childfree person do anything negative toward a kid. And I don't know any who are particularly mean, bitter, evil or dangerous. And I also look at it this way....I've had a lot of experience where parents seem almost threatened by me saying "I've decided not to have children. I don't really care for kids, and we're happy with our family the way it is". I didn't say "And I REALLY hate your kid", or "I don't want to be a brain dead mommy like YOU". I just said "not for me". Just like being a missionary isn't for me, nor is growing exotic orchids.

Sometimes it feels like parents think childfree people are "getting away with something". I don't get that, either. Having kids IS a choice. It's not like you wake up one morning and find a basket on the front porch instead of the morning paper. At times, I think parenting is some kind of weird cult, that's really about the parents, and not about the kids. And no one tells you what it's REALLY like until you're a part of the cult. Then it's too late.

Dunno. Just dunno. Maybe I AM a horrible, bitter, evil, nasty scary person.

It's better that people like me don't have children, don'tcha know. (breeder drinking game...time to chug....)

Anyway...what else is happening? Not much. Debating whether to participate in the neighborhood garage sale this weekend. We SHOULD...we have enough crap....er....rummage to get rid of. But we should be cleaning, organizing and tagging stuff NOW, and we aren't. I think we may just make a big ol trip to Goodwill and another to the dumpster.

Working on vacation plans, and they aren't coming along well at ALL. Since we are not using credit cards, and working to pay off the ones we have, we can't really afford a "real" vacation. So we want to use my parents' condo in the Smokies....here's a picture:

Problem is, while it IS their condo, it's in a rental program, and we're having a problem finding a free week. I hope something can be worked out yet this summer...we visited there before, and has a great time. So. Fingers crossed.

Still sticking with out workout schedule...however, after next week it's going to be all shot to hell, and we'll need to figure out a new routine. My Friday meeting has now moved to Thursday...which is workout day. Oh well...we'll work something out.

This bit of ennui is kind of worrying me. I was singing the praises of Prozac last week, and now, I'm wondering if I'm just having a normal mood fluctuation, or if my magic drug isn't so magic any more. I hope it's the former, I really do. I had a minor flip out at work today....I DID manage to get people to scatter like cockroaches. I had just come back from lunch and hadn't EVEN unwrapped my sandwich when I had a voice mail from tomorrow afternoon's host saying she couldn't come in, a note that DQ had used the last DAT tape, D started bellowing at me from production about what to name a cut, and a sales guy needed me Right Away. Come ON. So the sensory overload got to me and I started barking at people...not sure what I said, but the phrase "for the love of GOD!" was in there.

I think I scared 'em. Heh. I maintain that a well placed tantrum from a normally mild mannered person is worth its weight in gold. You just have to remind them what you're capable of.

1 comments so far
Loriville - 2003-06-05 17:59:37
"Fawning" - LOL! This is really funny. I took one of those weird Are You Ready To Have Kids? tests on MSN the other day. One of the questions was, "If you were walking down the street and saw a baby and a puppy, which one would you stop and fawn over?" Naturally, I said the puppy. After all, they ARE so much cuter than babies. Not that babies aren't cute, but a *puppy*?! Come on! No one can resist a puppy.... I didn't think the question was fair.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here