Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-10-30 - 4:22 p.m.
Overwhelmed

I am Evil Wife today. I think it has to do with the state of order (or lack thereof) in our house.

The place is filthy. I feel like we're a step away from How Clean is Your House , but in reality, that's not so.

But still.

The basement is vile. When we got married, Husband essentially took all the stuff from his two bedroom house and put it in the basement.

The man is a Trek fan. He has magazines and Christmas ornaments, and god knows what else. To me, it's all useless stuff that should be pitched or sold on ebay. He doesn't see it that way. The basement has potential to be....a halfway decent place to send Husband to watch tv. (hey, the house is 80 years old....they didn't think of basements as anything more than glorified coal bins back then.)

Second large bedroom, aka "guestroom". Can't see the bed for all the crap on it. This is also where Husband keeps his clothes. It's bad, in part because of our project with the small bedroom....all of THAT crap needed a place to go.

Which brings us to the little bedroom. We finally bought a futon last night, which we will bring home some time this week. So we'll turn that into a nice little den area, where we can host an overnight guest if need be. But right now, it's a mess too.

Husband and I almost got into it in the futon store last night. "I thought we were going to use this room for storage". Yeah. That's why I spent a kajillion hours painting it. So it could be a big closet.

His complete lack of any aesthetic sensibility makes me crazy sometimes. We got snippy over the trash cans. We have a TINY back yard. I DON'T want the trash and recycling sitting out as the major focal point of said yard. "Everyone has trash cans, what's the big deal". "They are ugly and make our house look like hillbilly heaven".

He doesn't get it. He's all about the practical.

He also doesn't get that putting crap in piles isn't "cleaning".

Bless his heart.

I just feel overwhelmed by it all. I mean, if either set of parents were to show up right now, I'd freak. And I don't care what century we are in, the condition of the house is still a reflection of the woman.

I'm feeling just completely inadequate. I can't keep things clean. I can't tell you the last time I cooked dinner....and it ain't going to happen tonight or tomorrow, and Tuesday is iffy. AAAAHHHG. It's like life is speeding out of my control.

So. The accomplishment list for today:

Bathroom cleaned...tub, toilet, sink, mirror.

Kitchen cleaned. Sink is SPARKLING. counters clean. Stove wiped clean.

Dining table cleaned off. Living room dusted. Two loads of laundry done.

Drop. In. The. Bucket.

4 comments so far
Belle - 2005-10-31 10:46:52
Not. Getting. Married. Ever. Again. Heh. What is it about men that they can leave no surface uncluttered, no room unfilled with crap?
-------------------------------
LA - 2005-10-30 16:55:40
I know what you mean. Despite my best efforts (and the new wall unit) Mike is dragging home crap faster than I can find homes for it. The sweet tidy house of a few months ago has become clogged with SHIT. There's junk everywhere and I'm at wit's end trying to figure out where to start. When I 'clean' these days it's mostly shifting piles of bumpf from one place to another. Every day I swear to myself that I will get my act together and go on a massive throwing out spree. Right. The days go by and I don't know what I did, but it sure as heck wasn't clean house. Frustrated and half drowning in litter, ~LA
-------------------------------
radiogurl - 2005-10-30 17:49:41
You're still ahead of me. My bathroom hasn't been cleaned since...
-------------------------------
ladyloo - 2005-10-30 19:00:44
Amen, sister! I recently moved my computer into our bedroom (not at all my ideal set-up) so that we could set up our office to be another temporary stopping place for any refugees that came along. My husband looked at this beautiful, empty space, and promptly filled it up with pieces of computers. There are tiny little computer screws scattered all over the shag carpet. It's like a minefield for my vacuum (if I could even get it in there around the damn computer carcasses).
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here