Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-06-13 - 10:44 a.m.
I'm in love

My poor, poor husband.

Yeah, yeah, I'm still in love with him.

But I have found a new love.


I persuaded Husband to go to an open house yesterday. Against his will. And I fell in love. With something we can probably afford. Houses are ridiculously affordable here. Must be the consolation prize for living here. Anyway. This lovely house is listed for 119,900. And hereabouts, NO ONE pay asking price. (let alone OVER)

Here's the living room:

Needs a new kitchen. Just kaboom and start over. But...mechanicals are good, roof is good. basement pretty dry. Yard is adorable. Fenced 3/4 around. It DOES back up to an empty medical building. The very building my pediatrician was in when I was a kid. There used to be a hospital nearby, but it was razed a few years ago. Now there is a lovely park area. My feeling is the area is on the upswing. The medical building is for sale, and I think the worst thing that could happen is that it gets torn down and the park gets bigger.

It's just a lovely, lovely home. And we aren't looking per se, but you gotta stay open, yanno? It has all the things we have talked about wanting in "our next house". Multiple bathrooms. Check. Garage. Check...TWO car. Fenced/fencable yard. Check. Bigger. Check. That little room off to the right? Sunroom, with windows on three sides and a sunroom. The stuff that needs to be done is cosmetic....ugly wallpaper, etc. (other than kitchen)

So. I filled out some preapproval stuff with our bank, and we'll wait to see what happens there.

Is this a stupid idea? Husband, AKA Captain Cautious, is not excited about the idea. Not that I can see, anyway.

But as I said to him yesterday...w/o the women in his life, he'd still be living in his first apartment...

Toodles....

1 comments so far
LA - 2005-06-13 17:58:33
WOW!!!! WOW!!!! WOW!!!! That is a slenderferous house! A magic house. I will avoid discussing the price because my head will collapse. I mean if you can that for less the $120K, what can you get for $480K? San Simeon? That last number was the AVERAGE house price for Podunkville last month. And I'm talking early 70's split level shag carpeted hovels in developments with no drinking water. Go! Go get the magic house. Mr Cautious will just have to deal. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here