Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-06-02 - 9:18 p.m.
Peer Pressure

And so life goes on and on. Mundane but not.

We have an ice show this weekend. I am NOT going to be in the show next year. NO. NOPE NOPE NOPE, NOWaY, no HOW. NUH uh.

And remind me of that, ok?

I was totally pressured into doing this number, and really regret succumbing to peer pressure.

Safety tip: When people near you are wheedling and cajoling and saying �ohhhh, it will be FUN!�, it won�t be, and you need to run fast in the other direction.

Normally, when we skate, it�s just us geezers. Well, in the show, we geezers only get about 2 minutes for our numbers, if that. The rest of the time, we are surrounded by teenage and pre teen girls. Oh yeah. Fuuuuuuun. They shriek a lot.

One show tomorrow, two on Saturday. x@nax, please.

What else? Took the afternoon off today�friend J bought me lunch at a local seafood place�.scrumptious. I was sad when my fish was gone.

Then home. Then to the gym. Yay me. LOVE being able to get there before the after work crowd.

Got some laundry done. House not in terrible shape. Busy weekend ahead.

Ok, here�s a random musing�.

Over the weekend, I was googling a favorite tv cook of mine. And you know, what I was reading was kind of making me sad. I came to a few conclusions�.one, people are just mean, and if they can�t come up with something constructive to criticize, they immediately revert to �she�s fat�.

Um. Ok. And this has what, exactly, to do with the price of coffee? But there it is, posting after posting about how this person is fat and that makes her bad/ugly/less than. Apparently, it�s ok to be a famous food person, as long as you don�t LOOK like you actually sample your own product.

Ah, but you have heard me on the fat rant before, and I�m not changing the world with it, am I?

On to the other musing, having to do with the same topic.

People take what they see on tv way the hell too seriously.

And they don�t have much of a sense of humor, at least as far as irony and sarcasm go.

I can�t really explain myself very well. These people were extrapolating an awful lot. Being shown driving a very expensive German made automobile is apparently �flaunting� and �showing how much better she is than the rest of us�. Um. Ok. Apparently they want shows with skinny cooks who live in shacks and drive pintos. You know, so they won�t be �flaunting� their lifestyles.

Idiots.

And here�s another thing that I�ve been chewing on�.

Here in the USofA, we talk about the importance of being an �individual�. Singleton uber alles.

And yet.

Everyone wants to be like everyone else. Live in the �right� house in the �right� suburb. Drive the �right� vehicle. It�s all about being alike. Assimilation. And isn�t that what school is about, really? Teaching us the ultimate �play well with others� lesson?

Gah. I don�t even know what the hell I am talking about. But there�s a lot going on in my little pin head right now. It just can�t find an articulate way to get out.

1 comments so far
kim (kam) - 2005-06-03 16:28:49
Have you ever read "The Way We Never Were" by Stephanie Coontz? It's a fascinating read. It really shows how the "American character" (rugged individualism) is pure falacy. "Pull yourself by your bootstraps" means "deny the help you were given". "My mother was a saint" shows the idealization of motherhood. Being snarky and sarcastic, it spoke to the cynic in me ;)
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here