Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-01-01 - 7:24 p.m.
This has been the most tense trip Husband and I have ever taken together.

For whatever reason, we can't go on any kind of excursion without getting lost. Yesterday, we went to The Mall and walked around. (pix will come after we get home, as there's no editing software on this computer yet, and files are too big to put on dland). Well, first, we went to Arlington and visit my Gramps' grave. Even with a map, it took 20 minutes to find it. Now, the cool perk (if you want to call it that) of having a relative planted there is that the family gets a cemetery pass to stick in the car window which allows them to drive through the cemetery to visit their loved one's grave. We just got waved in and got to drive around. Saw the Tomb of the Unknowns and the changing of the guard. Very interesting. Gave me a chill. I found it very interesting that even the youngest crumb grinders managed to reman silent, as requested.

So after Arlington, it was downtown to The Mall. Walked across the Ellipse, saw the christmas tree, saw the White House. GORGEOUS DAY. Decided to go back to the hotel to get ready for the wedding. Got lost. And lost. We kept finding ourselves at the corner of "This Is The Wrong Street" and "You Didn't Want To Turn There". And I wasn't driving, but I wasn't really navigating, and I was getting mad. Iwas feeling put upon and like I always have to be the one to make plans and make sure everything is going to be ok. (I know it's not the truth, but this is my whine, ok?) And I just wanted to sit in the car and look at the sights and be taken back to the hotel.

Wedding and reception were a blast. However, my feet feel like bloody stumps from my Fabulous Shoes. Will also post pix at a later date.

Today we went to see Husband's sister and family. And yes, got lost coming and going. There's a freaking mall across the street from our hotel, and all I wanted to do was cruise it to see what was there, maybe some place to eat dinner, whatever. This seemed too much for Husband, who suddenly seemed to lose his ability to drive in a damn mall parking lot. And I was getting short with him,and he was getting frustrated, and finally I just said we should go back to the hotel.

Which is where we are. It is 7:30 on a Saturday night in Washington DC, and we are in for the night.

Whee.

And I am NOT a party girl. I don't LIKE going out. But I'd be up for an aimless drive. Maybe another trip downtown, to see things all lit up. But Husband is all set for a nice evening in watching sports. Football on tv makes me want to jam pencils in my eyes.

So I am feeling grumpy, and not for any good reason, I realize. It's as much his vacation as mine, I know. But I feel like I am going to look back on this trip to DC and all I am going to remember are endless traffic lights and constant wrong turns and bickering.

On the other hand, the weather for the past two days has been EXQUISITE. Amazing. SEVENTY DEGREES.

I have a headache. Not sure I even have anything left to read.

Tomorrow we are going to a Wizards game. As much as I hate sporting events, this will be cool, because of the whole "event experience", being with my family, and seeing my Cousin The Mascot do his thing. And he got us really cool seats, so I hear.

3 comments so far
LA - 2005-01-02 06:35:10
Your cousin is a mascot? That is so cool! Seriously. It just tickles me to hear of an actual known person who is a mascot. I love weird jobs. ~LA
-------------------------------
radiogurl - 2005-01-02 03:23:44
Isn't it crazy that sometimes when you take a vacation or getaway, you feel like you need a vacation from the vacation??? I hope you're able to get a little rest and do some thing just for fun soon!
-------------------------------
Pandi - 2005-01-01 21:40:40
Ah, you're experiencing our freakish winter warm spells! Glad you're having good weather. I was out for much of yesterday afternoon and it was glorious. Sorry about your navigation malfunction, though. See why I don't drive here? ;-)
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here