Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-04-14 - 7:59 a.m.
Yoo Hoo

MMMkay. Yeah. So. It's been a week, hasn't it?

Not much going on, really. I blew off a hair appointment last week (the second time I've done that in recent memory), and was lucky to be rescheduled for today. I desperately need work done...the roots are showing and I'm looking all mullety. Besides, I have my photo session this saturday. ("Pin ups" for the Husband)

Had an epiphany at the shrink last week. I'm not stressed at work because of some character defect. Noooooo....it's the stress FROM work that is making me nuts. It was incredibly freeing to make that connection. However, I also connected with some Mom Issues that I didn't expect to have. Namely, that Good Enough is never good enough. In talking with the shrink, I realized that what I saw modeled as far as work habits and work ethic was maybe not so healthy. Work above all. You're not sick unless you are SICK. No "mental health days"...that would be malingering. Work. Comes. First.

Well, that is just WRONG. Now, how I extricate myself from my pickle....that still remains to be seen.

Went to Cleveland this weekend for a bridal shower...it was the most fun I've ever had at a shower, I think. It was for my cousin, and it was for the women in the family...we just all got together and talked and shared and had a great time. We had some "Oprah time" when we all sat around and answered relationship questions we drew from a basket.

I'm wishing that spring would get here already. Sheesh. Nice days followed by 38 degree days. Blech. It's hard to know what to wear, yanno? And then I have the extra challenge of Captain Freezy as a co worker.....so even when it's nice and warm, the a/c is cranked in the office. Never mind the rest of us, freezing our asses off......

BUT....Captain F is gone three days this week, and THEN...for the REST of the month. So we all get a vacation.

Heh.

Speaking of vacation...Husband and I are booked for Vegas, baby at the end of May. Cannot. Wait.

Gotsta run...

2 comments so far
LA - 2004-04-14 11:00:51
Glad you updated, I was getting a bit concerned. Sounds like you're doing some good work at the shrink's. YAY! I cannot believe ANOTHER of my favorite people is off to Vegas. I sooooo want to go there. Have you thought about going to JournalCon? I can afford to go on one more trip this summer and JournalCon is it. Helps that it's in DC this year. I can take the train. I had wanted to get to Chicago, but it's not working out. Dammit. ~LA
-------------------------------
Pandionna - 2004-04-14 13:23:55
Did your mom grow up in the D.C. area? The workaholic attitude is considered an asset here. And we wonder why the government is in the shape it's in... Sounds like the therapy is helping--that's great! I'll second LA's suggestion of JournalCon. For entirely selfish reasons, of course.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here