Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-12-21 - 9:56 p.m.
Mission accomplished

Well, I've done my holiday good deed. Through a little wifely manipulation, I managed to get Husband and his former boss/best man together this evening.

Behold the power of cookies.

Husband hadn't spoken to T since T's firing a couple months ago. I was nagging Husband to get in touch, but to no avail. I think he was afraid by finding out details of what happened, he would find out something bad about T, or bad about the company.

Fast forward to me, the baking maniac. My brainstorm was to give T some cookies, and send Husband as my delivery boy. Thank god it worked. They spent half an hour on the phone, then a couple hours in person. Husband feels better about things.

But his company is pure evil.

So, at last count, I've made FIVE different kinds of cookies, plus some buckeyes. And yes, I have a full time, out of the house job. But I feel good. I feel like my little goodie boxes have a nice variety, and they are ALL from scratch.

And I really need to be getting them out of the house, as I am eating too many cookies!

Bought myself some padded cycling shorts today...I'm going back to spin class, but dayum, the butt needs some cushion! Tried 'em on. Feels like I have a full diaper. But anything that encourages spin class, right?

Only working two days this week and next. WOOOOO!

Of course, we all know that days off for me really...aren't. Was awakened yesterday morning at 8 by the Diva, informing me that both stations were silent. Logging in via VPN showed me that automation was doing its thing correctly, so the computer that controls our tuning was most likely out AGAIN. I got some kind of programming on, and brushed my teeth and went in. Yep, a bad UPS screwed us again. Thank goodness the new ones arrived this week and will be put online tomorrow afternoon. But simply finding the plug and putting in the wall didn't do the trick...the computer still thought it was on battery power, and was shutting down. Two phone calls later, the engineer talked me through crawling around on the floor to find a serial connector that needed to be disconnected from the UPS.

Remember folks, I'm a liberal arts major.

There was really nothing about this problem that meant ONLY I could fix it. But I'm the only one who is willing to take the responsibility to know what to look for and how to problem solve. Diva would have just stood there babbling like an idiot. Captain Freezy would have cursed the engineers.

I'm so tired of the phone calls. I'm tired of the responsibility.

But I guess my job is secure.

But WOO HOO...only two days this week.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here