Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-12-17 - 10:37 p.m.
She rants, she raves....

So. I'm just feeling cranky.

Kind of amused that last night's entry got the most comments ever. And to answer a question, yeah, the Pink CD is pretty good. For whatever reason, I kind of like her. And her voice is WAY better than Britney or JLo.

LA had a lovely bit today about raising/disciplining kids. Totally agree with her. I was watching Dr Phil today, and he was doing "Parenting 101". And I have to ask, when did people who have kids get so stupid? I mean. It's common sense stuff he's talking about, and these parents were clueless. And we aren't talking stupid people--these appeared to be upper middle class educated people. With little common sense and no clue about child developement. Yeah yeah, I know, someone will send me a snarky comment about how I don't know what it's like to have kids, blah blah blah. No. I don't. But every time the good doctor told them how to solve their problem, I knew the answer before he said it. Hmm. Kid screams and cries all the time. You want him to stop. What do you do when he screams and cries? Oh, you pay lots of attention, and hug him and snuggle him and get him a cookie.

Hey, I'd cry and scream too, if it got me hugs and cookies.

Slightly related rant...reading an aneurysm provoking thread on a web site message board. People are talking about welfare cheats and people who work the system. And some people are saying "welfare queens" and others are saying "no one deserves what they make, and they should spend their money on Fendi bags when they could use it to help people". THEN this woman posts how she and her husband (still students) don't work, so they can be with their daughter. THEN she says one of the reasons they don't work is because "they don't want to".

Ka-fricking BOOM. That was my head.

Guess what? I don't "want" to work, either. But yanno, that's how my bills get paid. Because I have responsibilties and obligations. And life is full of doing stuff you don't want to do because it is the RIGHT thing to do.

And isn't THIS rich...she then adds that she might have another baby soon. No job, in school, no insurance. And, IMO, no business INTENTIONALLY having another kid.

Look, I don't want mammas and babies to starve. I don't want people who can't work to have to sell apples on the streetcorner. But dammit, there's an attitude of entitlement that some people have that just BLOWS my mind. Yeah, there are bad breaks in life. And some of us (myself included) were just plain lucky to be born into the families we were born into. But some people have a pattern of consistently bad choices that the rest of us get to pay for.

And I don't like that. I don't want a Fendi bag, but I don't want to pay for a kid you DECIDED to have, even though you don't have a job or health insurance. That's just a stupid choice, IMO, and one you should have to foot the bill for yourself.

Ahem.

In other money news...did I mention that work screwed up our paychecks last month? They did. Gave us our "retrofitted" raises, but computed that money on the wrong figure....used salary plus bennies, and did 2% of that, as opposed to just salary. Not a HUGE mistake in my case, as it's just me on the bennies, but for someone with a spouse and kids on the insurance, it was a big boo boo. So the boss calls us in today to tell us how it's all going to work out. My error was equivalent to about 200 bucks. Which is about 25% of my GIANT 800 bucks. (Yes, ladies and gents, a whopping 17 bucks a pay period) Anyway....the boss basically told me in my case he was considering it a Christmas bonus, and I wasn't going to have to pay back/be docked/whatever. Others are not so lucky. So. Yay me.

Finally got the LNB repaired at work...we were really getting messed up satellite programming. Drop outs galore....but only when it fell below freezing. Go figure. The part came in today, and the engineer was on jury duty. He came over after he got done (they convicted the guy--bank robbery), and swapped out the part. It was bad enough that we took ATC via phone feed. That was some creative radio. But shortly after six, we were full tilt boogie once again. Good deal, since we KNOW stuff likes to fail on holidays...

Anyway....enough rambling, ranting and raving. Outta here....

2 comments so far
Pandionna - 2003-12-17 23:30:34
Gee. I always thought that when a kid screams and cries, you put them back in their cage, throw a sheet over them, and then leave the room until they calm down. Oh, wait...that's a FID. Silly me.
-------------------------------
Loriville - 2003-12-18 15:48:22
I saw that Parenting 101 schtick, too. I was AMAZED that the parents were so clueless about why their 3-year old wouldn't stop crying. It didn't take a rocket scientist to figure that out. Sheesh!
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here