Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-11-20 - 4:55 p.m.
Cool...now I can get that new kidney....... BEAN.....

Goodness, is it Thursday already??

SO tired today. My sleep schedule has been all messed up this week...staying up too dang late, then not able to get up in the morning. Maybe next week.

So today I FINALLY saw the paperwork for my raise. Do you know how much more I'm getting this year? Do ya?

EIGHT.

HUNDRED.

DOLLARS.

I mean. I actually laughed when my boss showed me the figures. It's INSULTING. It's MORE insulting than nothing, IMO. And he tells me that Social Security witholding is going up, oh 2 or so percent, so it's all gonna be a wash.

Unreal. And here's the interesting thing...I think, through my years of working in the non profit world, and through Husband's years of working for a cheap ass commercial radio company, we have a skewed view of what is a "good" salary and what people actually make. I'm reading an article in Sunday's paper about the local corporation that's reorganizing, etc, etc. It's the same local corporation my mom had a long career with. Anyway....they were listing salary ranges for different job classification. Clerical workers make from 18 to 40 thousand a year. Admin and above....well, YIKES.

Um. Husband and I are at the higher end of that range. And we've been trained by our industries to feel damn lucky. But...but...what DO people make? Together we're bringing in SIGNNIFICANTLY less than six figures, and I think we're being rooked. I didn't know HOW rooked, until I read that story and got a big ol reality check.

So...I have been doing more job perusing, and found a tasty morsel at a university I once worked for. It would be a stretch, but I could hack it, I think. The LOW end of the range for the position starts at 10K more than I make now. It would be nice to get a call to talk about it, that's for sure. PLUS, I think my boss is feeling a bit too complacent that I will be here forever and ever amen. And that's a sure fire way to be taken even MORE for granted. (Exhibit A: My husband)

I dunno. I just think I'm pretty smart, and can contribute to a place where I work, but dammit, I think I'm worth more....WAY more than what I make now.

So there.

1 comments so far
Roxy - 2003-11-20 18:58:14
You are so right on salary. My SO just went from working in the non-profit sector to a corporate job. The jump in salary was astounding, not to mention the benefits.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here