Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-11-16 - 3:35 p.m.
Blargh

My GOD but do I hateloathedespise Sundays. Always have. Today is the worst one on a long time. The entire weekend has been gray and cold and wet and gross. I don't have the motivation to do anything. Even with the prozac, I'm depressed. Ugh. I can't find motivation to clean. I can barely find motivation to shower. I've always hated Sundays. Ever since I was a little kid. It's like friday night signals possiblity of the weekend, and sunday just means...another two days pissed away, and it's time to go back to work. I can't even scare up the chutzpah to go shoe shopping!

I did go out yesterday, fully intending to buy some nice, comfy, GOOD shoes. Went to Von Maur, the chi chi department store. I looked at shoes for a good ten minutes....checked out all the tables, picked up shoes, looked, looked, looked.

No one even said "Hello". And they weren't busy. One sales person was actually kind of standing around. Yes, I could have said "can I see this in a seven, please?" But after the first five minutes, it became a game for me. No one offered to help, so I left, and took my hundred bucks with me. Maybe I'll head out to Penney's where they always seem glad to take my money....

1 comments so far
LA - 2003-11-17 01:30:52
As a sales professional (at least I was for many years) and one hard edged shopper, I can tell you it's a fine line between allowing a customer to browse in peace and ignoring them. I don't like to be bugged, but I don't like being invisible either. If I had been working that floor I probably would have acknowledged you with a greeting and eye contact and tossed off, "Oh man! Shoe shopping is the best, eh? You take your time and have fun. If you'd like to try anything on give me a wave, okay?" and THEN let you wander and mull to your heart's content. But like I said, I was a professional. Not some minimum wage space filler. A high end retailer should know service makes the sale and staff accordingly, but they rarely do. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here