Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-11-05 - 8:20 a.m.
The doctor would like to see you....

Where were we?

Oh. Yeah. Blood tests and stuff.

Yesterday was a roller coaster. I called the dr's office on Monday, to see if they could tell me anything about the test results from last week. Nope. "She'll call if there is a problem". Great. So I had JUST about reached the point of "everything is ok" when I called home and checked the voice mail. And there was a message from the dr's office. I called back, and the nurse said "dr wants to see you today".

AAACCCCCCKK. Ohmigodomigodomigod.

So I made arrangements to leave work, Husband made arrangements to meet me there, and we waited for the dr, with me all the while thinking "this could be it. What she tells me could change everything".

Bottom line? Heck, they don't know. I don't have hepatitis (yay). The result of the GGT was ONE point above normal, so she called a GI for a consult, and he suggested other tests, just to rule out anything serious but uncommon. So I gave another quart of blood yesterday, which they will test for various things, such as autoimmune problems and iron metabolism issues, etc, etc. Then next week, I have an abdominal ultrasound to make sure there are no growths or blockages or stones, etc. (My money is that they will find a gallstone or 4) If all the stuff they are testing for is ruled out, the GI said it's probably something called "Fatty Liver", which usually happens in older men who drink, but can happen in fat chicks who don't, apparently. The treatment for that is....ta da...gradual weight loss. Which I'm doing.

So. That's the update on the liver crisis. My dr was cool, though, she said "I won't tell you not to worry if something is really serious, and I'm telling you not to worry".

So schwew.

2 comments so far
LA - 2003-11-05 09:43:38
Whew! Mostly a relief, eh? Been thinking about you and hoping all was okay. Um, they DID do the original test again, right? I mean if a test result came up wonky I'd want to make sure the test was administered and interpreted correctly first before I was subjected to a whole round of new and expensive torture. A friend of mine was thought to have kidney stones. The urine dip showed no stones, but was positive for pregnancy. HE was very surprised. So was his urologist. Anyhow, it sounds like the worst has been ruled out and I am very glad! ~LA
-------------------------------
Pandionna - 2003-11-05 15:08:52
What LA said!
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here