Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-10-04 - 7:49 p.m.
SSSSaturday night

Another exciting Saturday here. First thing, we had to SERIOUSLY vacuum the sofa so that the people to whom we were donating it didn't thing we were incredible slobs. (even though we kind of are....) Then, it was time to move all the stuff outta the living room so the carpet cleaners could do their thing. Which they did, wonderfully. We have a couple of wear areas (one where Husband sits....)but we think they will be covered by the new couch. If not, I'll just get some kind of nice looking runner/area rug thingy.

So. Now we have fans going in the living room to dry the carpet, and no place to sit. Whee. Husband is down in the basement, watching sports. I'm--well...I'm here. Anyway.... Can't wait for the new sofa, and can't wait to start really working on getting the house in better order.

I want to whine and blather on and navel gaze about the whole Weight Watchers thing, but I think that might bore even me. Suffice it to say, I can see how eating disorders crop up. Whenever you start throwing in numbers and targets and goals....it's just waaaay too easy to say "well, I survived at 1000 calories, let's try 800". I'm never so obsessive about food as when I'm dieting. Sheesh. I'm not sure what I think will happen if I exceede my WW goal points. I mean, I know that would mean I am a Very Bad Person, but would the world end? Would I IMMEDIATELY put on ten pounds? Hard to know.

Body image is an interesting thing. There's a discussion on a web site about the topic....and it's full of size 5 and 7 women hating their "fat" stomachs and "jiggly" thighs. My God. What has this world done to us? And if they hate THEMselves, I guess people built like me need to just dig a hole and climb in, huh? It's weird and sad. I hate my body and what I look like much more now that I'm trying to "improve". I can't imagine what it must be like to wear single digit sizes and think you're "disgusting". Unreal. And sad. And completly whacked.

I guess the world just couldn't handle a female population that actually liked itself....

1 comments so far
Michelle - 2003-10-04 22:15:52
No, it couldn't survive. Or at least the diet industry, fashion industry, makeup industry, spas, beauty salons, personal shoppers, etc. couldn't. So we are fed the same lines of BS, generation after generation. We've come a long way, baby. *sigh*
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here