Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-09-05 - 4:21 p.m.
Week's OVER?

Friday already?

Yikes.

GORGEOUS day here today. Sunny, breezy, 70 degrees. Would have been more gorgeous if I hadn't been locked up in jail...er....work.

Homeowner adventure last night. We had a mini flood the night before last when the lint filter fell off the washer's drain hose, blocked the drain of the wash tub, and caused a small amount of flooding. Because of this, sheets, etc, that were on the floor got Very Damp. So, I've been washing all that stuff I left in a pile to wash "someday". Last night, I was looking for the bleach, as some sheets had mildewed a bit. I went to the corner where I keep the bleach, which also happens to be the corner where the sump pump is. I note that the sump crock is FULL TO THE TOP. "Hmmm, I think to myself, this is......WRONG". We had noted that the hanging light in that corner hadn't been working,and we just assumed that it was a problem with the light. Noooooo. Oh Nooooo. It was the circuit. It was blown. I discovered this when Husband went to the breaker box and flipped the breaker back on. Then I plugged in the pump and...click...blew the breaker again.

The damn sump pump hasn't worked for...oh...hmm... MONTHS. Like, all summer. Like all summer when it's been raining like we should head for an ark. I can't believe we didn't get flooded.

So I called the company that did our waterproofing, and am waiting to hear from them as to when they will come out to fix it. Here's the best part: it's actually covered by the warranty! Yee Haw! Nothing is EVER covered by warranty, at least not in my world. So there's a few hundred bucks we don't have to spend on a hole in the ground.

Came unglued over the kitty the night she died. Just bawled. Kept sobbing "but we just LEFT her there". I'm doing better, but I still miss her. I expect to see her in her little bed downstairs. We'll get a kitten soon, I think. We got a really nice note from the vet yesterday. Her ashes will be ready next week, but we will be out of town.

Going to a wedding tomorrow. College roommate from freshman year. I'm actually looking forward to it. I have a fabulous new outfit (in a smaller size) and fabulous shoes, and Husband will wear his brand new black suit, and we'll just look like SUCH the glamorous grown ups. It will be a nice evening, I think.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here