Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-05-21 - 8:45 a.m.
Sleep and Money

When I was living at home, my sister and I used to mercilessly tease my poor mother who, after coming home from work, would fall asleep every night on the couch.

I have turned into my mother.

Last night, I think I zonked out for an hour and a half on the sofa. I've even been given reports that snoring was heard.

Unreal.

I DID manage to leave work early yesterday, which was cool. We had our meeting with the financial planner, and it went ok. We have, as I knew, a shitload of credit card debt. BUT...here's the cool thing....and I'm sure it's because it's her job to work for us...but she wasn't mean about it. You know what I mean...people who DON'T have cc debt have a tendency to do the holier than thou routine, about how irresponsible and stupid and worthless people like us are.

But if we were truly irresponsible, we wouldn't be paying our bills on time, now would we?

Anyway...she made us a spreadsheet listing all the cards, and we have to go through and fill in the numbers. But the cool thing is, we can get this paid off in the next year, IF we work our asses off to do it. It is going to be hard. Debit card only, no credit cards. And not much extra spending, cuz it has to go to the cards.

I hope we can do it.

We can't really do much else financially until we get the debt paid off. We've both got money going into retirement plans, and we'll keep that up. We should be in better shape once the sale of husband's house is final.

The weird thing is, I can't really put a finger on why we're in this shape...or, more specifically, why I am in this shape. I have a huge amount of credit card debt, and I'm not sure why. Expensive vacations? No. Designer clothing? No. It just....accumulated.

Overall, however, I would say I'm most pleased with the financial planner experience. Yeah, it cost us some money...but in the end, I do think it will be worth it. I'd recommend it to anyone.

In other news, the saga of husband's house continues...our first bid for the roof is 2800. He's thinking now he'll get a crew of some friends and they'll do it, and save money. OK by me. Last I heard, the real estate agent was going back to the buyer to inquire about upping the offer, if we put on the roof. The cost of the roof is only 100 bucks less than the amount below asking she offered us. (does that make sense? She offered 2900 less than we were asking) But do the math....on a 40K house, we are taking a HUGE hit. Huge. Anyway...I want THAT resolved asap...

Gotta run and go to work. Bleah.

1 comments so far
LA - 2003-05-21 10:24:08
Good for you! Get rid of the Visa shackle. We racked up a huge cc debt when Mike opened his business, but I can't blame him entirely. Like you I wondered just where and when I had spent all the plastic, I had very little to show for it. Since we paid it off I feel 100% better and I even sleep better at night. That horrible debt used to wake me up at 3:00am and LEER at me. And it was so hard to stop using the cards! But we managed. We starved, scrimped, and sweated for 5 years to get them paid off. If you can do it in a year or two then GO FOR IT! Cheering for you, ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here