Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-04-24 - 11:25 p.m.
I'm gonna order me some Dixie Chicks CDs

I am not even wild about their music, but I think I am gonna go buy some CDs out of pure principle.

I am SO SICK of this whole "patriotism" bullshit. We were supposedly fighting so Iraqis could be free. Yet we aren't free to question? Oh, yeah, people will say, sure, you're free, but you have to take the consequences. Husband and I got into a discussion when I asked if his station pulled the Dixie Chicks and he said yes. I said it reminds me of the blacklisting of the 50s...people denied the right to make a living because of political beliefs. HE said "they should have known better". Huh? His point being, they can have their opinions, but they better shut up, since they should know their audience would be offended.

Well you know what? People who are offended by anti-war, anti-administration sentiment can do? They can do what I do all the time, and that is learn to fucking deal with it. Be offended. Then move the hell on with your life. Where did this idea that we always need to agree with everything come from? And how come the most patriotic among us seem to forget that America is about the freedom to express dissent without worry that you'll vanish overnight and be sent to a gulag?

And while I am on this particular roll, let me just add that while the conservatives among us whine about being "offended" by us "liberals" and our horrible opinions, THEY are the ones who spout their crap like it's gospel, with no regard for the possibility of differing opinion. I will use my in laws as an example. (And they really are lovely people...they are just kind of scarily religious. At least to me) I would NEVER in a million years even OPEN the subject of abortion with them, nor would I give any editorial comments indicating how very pro choice I am. However, the very first time I met them, one of the first things FIL said was some comment about how wonderful it was going to be to have a pro life president to "stop the killing of babies".

This ISN'T offensive, but famous people expressing anti-administration opinions is. Mkay.

The powers that be are trying to quash exchange of ideas. They are trying to stop dissent. I'm sorry, but saying you're not behind the president or his actions is NOT treason. But I've heard people say it is.

We went into Iraq on the premise of the weapons of mass destruction. None of which have been found, BTW. Oh, but the president says Hussein just "hid them really well". Whatever. And now, the company that's going to rebuild the country we just blew to smithereens has srong affiliation with the administration and the republican party. Hmmmm.

But we're supposed to all march in lock step (or is that goose step) with what our leaders do, unquestioningly waving our flags and acting like it's all one big football game.

It disgusts me.

Okaaaaay.

3 comments so far
Andria - 2003-04-25 02:56:24
Right on!!!
-------------------------------
LA - 2003-04-25 08:13:58
Blowing kisses, ~LA
-------------------------------
colz - 2003-04-25 09:09:38
Awwwww....you guys..... C
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here