Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-04-04 - 8:23 p.m.
V-day

Husband was snipped this afternoon, and seems to be doing ok...putting frozen peas on his very tender bits. I was in the room the whole time, watching the procedure. It was cool. The tubes really do look like spaghetti. It was, though, the oddest experience I've ever had in a doctor's office. First of all, the office itself wasn't easy to find within the building.....it was sort of around the corridor, off the main drag. When we found it, it was SO quiet. No one in the waiting room, which was shared with another practice. No other patients in the dr's office. The dr and his assistant were nice, joked around, and were laid back about the whole thing. And not once did we get grilled about our decision to have husband snipped when we had no children. It was cool.

Yeah, easy for me to say, they weren't MY private bits getting poked at.

At any rate, Husband seems to be feeling ok, if a little sore. Now we just have to hit the 8 and 12 week specimen points....

Work today was just another pain in the butt. I mean. I had to leave early because it was V day. My boss knew this (he wasn't even in today). Well, we ended up with some clusterfuck of a situation that had me ripping a CD into the automation AND rewriting automation macros for tomorrow morning. Because boss, when contacted by phone said "well, if she can't do it, I'll come in at 7 and run it live".

Great. Why don't ya just set me right on up to be "not a team player".

In the end, it wasn't that huge a deal. But it was the principle of the thing...and the same thing Husband was facing as HE was trying to get out of work today. It's like...hello....this is ONE DAY that I need a little special dispensation. Not only won't people cut me THAT break, but they have to throw in extra "emergency" crap that needs to be taken care of. Are people just rude, or is it disrespect? Or maybe a control issue.

At any rate, by 6 tonight, we'd already had one phone call from work...his. So I guess mine's next, eh?

1 comments so far
LA - 2003-04-05 10:01:50
Cool! Your honey had his wires cut? I dream about Mike finally breaking down and getting it done. I'm too fucking old to be sweating it out every month and think it's only fair since I've done 15 pregnancies that HE be the one who gets snipped. The wrangle will go on until I finally go through menopause I guess. There's no getting close to the Sacred Sac with the snippers. Sigh... ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here