Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-12-31 - 2:34 p.m.
Out with the old

My lord it is depressing weather here. Things warmed up yesterday, so the snow is mostly melted, and what's not melted is very sad looking. And I would swear that the sun has been extinguished. It's so gray and depressing I think even normally cheery people would be bummed out at this point. An acquaintence put it perfectly in her blog yesterday: "It was a lights-on-all-day sort of winter day, the kind where you think, "You know what downtown really needs? Targets painted on the sidewalks. So we have something to aim at when we jump from the 14th floor.""

Good lord, was she spot on or what?

Here's a view outside our front door right now.

Pretty grim, innit?

We have no plans for tonight. I think Husband is going to eat chips and dip, and I will eat an entire shrimp ring. He wouldn't even consider touching shrimp, and shrimp cocktail is like my favorite thing in the world. YUUUUM. Hope we can stay up till midnight. I am off work for the next two days...woo hoo!

So. Week two of Prozac is going well. I really do think the stuff is helping somewhat. It hasn't been a happy pill effect by any means...it's been more like a sigh of relief, or a weight being lifted off me. It's weird. But good. I don't spend time wishing I was dead. And even the free floating anxiety is a bit better. And I don't seem to be having any side effects, which is cool. Maybe more vivid dreams, but that's cool, too.

Ugh. My husband works for assholes. (sorry for the abrupt subject change....) He just IMd me. I am home, having worked like a crazy woman to take half a day today. He was supposed to work half a day as well, but, well, shit hit the fan, and he gets to take care of it, as usual. Pisses me off, the way he's treated. It's just assumed that he's going to be there, because he always is. But damn. It's always about him taking care of stuff so OTHER people's plans don't get messed up. He can't even take time off right now, because there's no one to step in for him. (hm. sounds familiar) He's supposed to have a meeting with two of the higher ups soon, about compensation and getting him some help so he can actually take time. His former assistant filled in for him while we were on our honeymoon. On that friday, she worked from 5 in the morning (when she comes in for her regular job there) until 8 at night. That's such bullshit. But husband does his job and does it well, and they just keep piling on more shit. Meanwhile, he's been in the business 25 years, I've been in it ten, and I make more money. His bosses should be ASHAMED. But Husband's problem is that he's a decent and fair person, who thinks if you're decent and fair to others, they will be decent and fair right back. Not these guys. I wrote up a page of talking points for him to use in his meeting, outlining his value to the company. I hope it helps. Because right now, I want to kick some I'm-the-big-boss-and-I'm-not-working-cuz-it's-new-year's-eve ass.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here