Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-01-01 - 7:58 p.m.
Define "time off" for me

I am such a MORON. I clicked a link in my email and poof...away went my entry.

Idiot.

Anyway. Time for some pissing and moaning about work.

So. Plan for the week was to work half a day yesterday, then have today and tomorrow off, work on Friday. That allowed me to get a bunch of stuff done for the middle of the week, and being in on Friday allowed me to get weekend stuff done myself, thereby not stressing out other people.

I worked my half a day yesterday, but had to go in around 9:30 because one of the stations was off the air. This was, in part, due to an error on my part, as I had forgotten about a technical booby trap that will take one station off the air when it's supposed to be simulcasting the other station's programming. Whoopsie. But...I took half a vacation day yesterday, and during that "time off", I had to go in.

Doesn't seem right to me.

Now, mind you, I'm the only one who could have fixed the problem or even KNOWN what it was. As it was, my first diagnosis was wrong.....it was only after I remembered learning of this booby trap the hard way that I fixed the problem. So even if someone else had been "on call", I would have still had a phone call.

Here's where the whining comes in. Why me? Why am I the only one who gets to come running in and shouldn't leave her phone? The Diva, for instance, will be perfectly happy to tell me when something is messed up, but she has no idea how to fix it, nor does she have any idea what I was doing when I made the mistake that messed things up. All she can do is point and gleefully say "this was wrong!"

Then tonight. We're in the middle of our Chinese food, when the phone rings. I grabbed it from husband (who can't focus on the called ID before four rings, so the machine always gets it), and saw it was work. "Hi. So and so didn't show up, and there's nothing on WXXX". (Mind you, this is, oh FORTY MINUTES after said person's show was supposed to begin) OK, not a huge deal, I gave instructions for what room he needed to go to and what button he needed to push to get the network on the air.

Are you keeping track? In my day and a half "off", I've had one trip in and one phone call. Something doesn't seem right....

So. If I get no more phone calls before next Monday, my grand total for the holidays will be 5 total days off, (not counting weekends) one trip in and two phone calls on said days off.

Am I the only one who thinks this sucks? That it's unfair?

And here's a technical work gripe....my fricking Outlook email hasn't worked for, oh two weeks. For awhile, I was able to get my work email from home, via the web site. That's no longer working. I'm supposed to be emailing our jazz hosts about a mandatory meeting next week, and I have no access to my email or my contact lists. I've told the boss about the problem, oh, three or four times, I've told the IT liason about it a couple of times. It's like no one cares. Well, it's making it hard for me to do my job, people. Sheesh.

And at this point, I'm at a real loss as to what to do. I figured that after the second station was on the air for a year (as it will be as of 2/2), things would have calmed down. But they haven't. I'm still little miss on call 24/7, and I'm sick of it. It's bullshit. Even doctors get some weekends where they get to turn their beepers off. UGH.

Now. Onto domestic stuff. Husband and I worked a little at tidying up the living room. He headed out to Target, armed with gift cards from our wedding, and bought two bookshelves. They actually go well with the entertainment center we have, so things will look kind of put together once we have it all organized. He's only put one together so far, but it looks nice. Cheap furniture doesn't look NEARLY as cheap as it used to! I feel like our house is hopeless sometimes. Too much stuff. No closet space. Every time I open a cabinet or closet, something falls on me. They are ALL Fibber McGee's closet! OH well, I supposed it's like eating the elephant....one bite at a time. I did FINALLY use our Euro-shark, which was a wedding gift. Works GREAT. Sucked up a lot of cat hair, and worked better on baseboards than the hose attachment to the regular vacuum. I think it's the best way to do stairs I've found so far.

So. Off again tomorrow. Maybe I can get through the day with no phone calls. Have to go get my hair colored in the afternoon....but I may ask for some trimming, as I seem to be having "bang issues". My hair grows SO fast.

Ok. I'm really boring right now. So I'll sign off.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here