Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-09-07 - 7:17 a.m.
The rest of the story

Just when you think certain aspects of a situation can't get any worse.....they do.

I'm at work at 7 on a Saturday morning because of a massive computer failure. The engineer called me last night around 9...the power supply had failed on the computer that essentially runs one of our stations. Kaput. No recordings, no automation. Deadski. I went in last night to set up recordings on tape, and am in this morning to run programming...which consists of clicking a computer mouse once an hour or so.

I am so dedicated.

I am so tired.

So...I promised more about the kid thing. MIL to be called the other night, with a whole list of concerns. Beloved was at work (he had to go back and finish up after our meeting at the hotel regarding the reception). MIL is first of all concerned about the tuxedo issue. Beloved hasn't been in touch to get measurements. I said I had left that up to him and he said he would take care of it. Then she told me that no one in their family had a room at the hotel. (more on this later) THEN she said one of the sisters was "confused" about the babysitting, and I should just call her. I explained what we had decided, (kids get room service) and she said "Oh. I think they wanted to have the kids at the reception, then take them upstairs with the sitter at bedtime" I didn't say anything, but it was at that moment I decided fuck it, I'm not dealing with this any more. People seem to not remember that I AM THE FSKING BRIDE here. But fine, whatever. I emailed the Angry Bridesmaid last night about it, and she's "delighted". Fine. Let the toddlers put their boogery little fingers in my cake, for all I care. It's just my wedding, it's not a big deal.

Bitter, party of one?

I'm only a little bitter. I'm also relieved. Now at least I can move on and worry about whether we get the milk chocolate favors we ordered, or dark by mistake.

But back to bitter. Even my own dad started grumbling "Can't you have an adult party any more?" No dad, you can't. Because everything, every place, every situation is for the children. When I was small, if my parents had adult friends over, we were to make ourselves scarce. And we DID. Not anymore. It's a sit down dinner (roast pork loin in bourbon sauce and chicken chardonay), open bar, dance all night reception. PERFECT for children.

Eyeroll.

OK...a little bit of in law griping. So Beloved's mom is concerned that they don't have rooms. HELLOOOOOO?!?!?! Didn't they get the same stupid invitations as everyone else? The ones with the maps to the hotels? The ones with the phone numbers, special codes and a FRICKIN' DEADLINE? I mean GEEZE. See, if it was me, I'd be on the phone tuit suite, getting myself a room. Did they think the Hotel Fairy was taking care of things? Did they think my parents were taking care of things? (Along with every other goddang thing about this wedding) And I'm a little irked that this became our problem to solve. Hello? We have a lot on our plates right now. Is it too much to expect adults to act like ADULTS and take some initiative? I hate when people don't take initiative.

The resolution was good....Beloved called the events planner lady at the hotel and now everything is all set. But still....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here