Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-05-04 - 8:27 a.m.
ZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Wow. Beloved left this morning and I didn't wake up until I heard his car start under my window. He always kisses me goodbye--I'm wondering if I slept through it! Yikes. Talk about sound sleep. I've pointed out to him that's a "feature" ...that I'm not one of those people who is up once you awaken them. It'll be a good thing, since he works early..he's up and gone by 6:30 most days, I think. So he's not going to hear a lot of guff from me about waking me up and poor me can't get back to sleep. I'm more like "ok. mffae. frrt. gmph. bye. mumble mumble zzzzzzz".

But that fact that I don't even remember him getting up and dressed and gone....I told him once that I would be mad if he didn't say goodbye in the morning, so he must have tried and thought I was dead or something.

For breakfast today, I had the MOST AMAZING bread with butter. I know bread has carbs, and carbs are evil. But this bread....it is SO good. You could eat it without butter. It's from a place in town called Mill Bread Company, and is amazing. The most delicious bread I have ever tasted in my life. Even the crusts taste amazing.

OK. Enough waxing rhapsodic about bread.

Let's see. Yesterday I had the day off. YAY! Got my hair colored in the morning...she did a great job, and I love the color. Then mom and I went to see a florist recommended to me by my hair person. Wow. My bouquet, four bridesmaids' bouquets, nine bouts, and six corsages. Three hundred fifty bucks. That's all. And in a happy bit of luck, this florist does the altar flowers for the church we're being married in, and suggested we buy the altar flowers for that weekend, and she'll do them in compatible colors. Pretty cool, huh? And she was great to work with...took lots of time, made suggestions, and it's obvious she's an artist. I feel so much better to have that done. We seem to have all the big pieces in place...I even checked the checklist in one of the bridal mags, and we are in really good shape. We still need engagement photos, which I've made Beloved's responsibility for arranging. And he hasn't. For two weeks. And yes, that's beginning to annoy the hell out of me.

Must work in the flowerbed today. Beloved said he'd help dig this afternoon. It won't be as bad as last year, when we dug out the whole side by the porch to expand te flower bed. Where I live, the soil is clay, and it was a BEAR to dig out that bed. I mean, all we needed to do was have an oven, and we would have had bricks. This stuff is unreal. And also the reason everyone around here has trouble with water in the basement....the stuff can't drain. I need to better define the edge of he flower bed, add some dirt in a couple of places, and plant and mulch. We SHOULD be past the frost date, but I'll have to double check. My perennials have done really well...the lilac came back (it's just a baby...no flowers), the hostas came back, the bleeding heart is doing great...blooms and everything. And on the other side of the porch, the creeping phlox is doing its thing, the daisies look like they'll do well, and the periwinkle is spreading so well it's coming up through the phlox. The rose bush...well...it's alive. We'll see if I get any blooms this year. I cut it back last year, after I read something about blooms only on second year branches, or something. We'll see what happens. So anyway...need to buy some flowes. Thinking I may do impatiens this year, instead of petunias. I think there's enough shade that the impatiens would do ok. Maybe pansies for the pots by the door. I love pansies.

Good lord. I'm going all Martha Stewart on ya. Sorry.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here