Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-03-21 - 1:33 p.m.
Fund drive hell

WARNING: CRANKY COLZ AHEAD

Yeah, yeah, how is that different from regular Colz....

Does my nametag say "I am the answer woman"? Because that's what it seems like.

OK---here's where we are.....we are in day million (ok, seven) of our fund drive. We have a touch more than 30k to go to reach our goal. I am sick of these people. yeah, that's a good way to put it. Too much togetherness, I fear. And I'm getting sick. I'm losing my voice. The only good thing is that if it goes completely away, I might actually get to not be on the air.

Who am I kidding. I'll just have to sit there and croak out the phone number.

I was sitting here at my desk, trying to eat lunch, and was interrupted no fewer than 5 times. It's like being the parent of toddlers. "Waaaah, automation is stuck! Heeeelllp". Oh figure it out your own damn self. After I throw myself in front of a bus just to get out of work for a few days, you'll have to do it on your own anyway.

Can you tell I'm unhappy? I am. It's freezing in here, and in 20 minutes I have to go be on the fucking radio again and tell people how WONderful the station is and how important it is for them to call and pledge. blah blah blah.

And here's a truism that's just....sad. I took a call yesterday from a listener, and the development director needed to handle it. So I told her she had a call. And her question to me? "Is it someone who is mean or angry?" How fucking sad is THAT?! But that's the first reaction most of us have when we take a call that's from a listener. Because sometimes it seems like all they want to do is bitch at us. Now, I know I'm hardly Miss Charming in this journal, but that's HERE. In my actual life, I'm quite polite. I've never called a radio station or tv station to bitch about something.....let alone the inane bitching that comes from our listeners. If you dealt with me on the phone, you'd fine me one of the more pleasant people you talked with that day. So it just floors me that our listeners are such assholes. On a regular basis. Even the GM is beginning to fear taking phone calls. Of course, my cheerful facade hiding my true, hateful self is probably not doing me any favors. Co-worker assured me that if I climbed a clock tower and started mowing people down, he wouldn't describe me as "a loner" to the local paper. I'm so relieved!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here