Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-03-20 - 8:48 p.m.
No. I don't want kids.

I am childfree. Yes. FREE. Beloved and I will not be having any children, because we do not want them. Using the term childLESS implies we are missing something. We are not.

But people in the world in general can't seem to deal with the thought that some people don't want children. Not only do some people not want them, they actually.....don't have them. Oh, don't kid yourself...there are lots of people who don't particularly WANT kids, but they don't put any thought or effort into preventing children, so, whoopsie, there's the kid. To live in a world, in this day and age, when half of all pregnancies are unintended....well, that's just stupid.

Now, I know there are people who have oops babies and love 'em to pieces and couldn't be happier. There are also people who have kids, and once they're in the cult of parenthood, find out that it sucks in a big way. Ahhhh...but since they are in The Cult, they must never breathe a word of their dissatisfaction with their lives. Instead, they must put on their Stepford face and say "oh, but it's different when it's your owwwwwwn".

Yeah, well, what if it ain't? Then what?

What sparked this rambling bit of childhating, you might ask? Well, more weddingchannel stuff. The whole kids at weddings topic. All I said was that I didn't like kids, and would prefer none be in the building, let alone at my wedding, but that we WERE considering the guests and planning on having a babysitter. Those of us who were ballsy enough to say we don't like children got the typical condescending breeder bingo replies. "Well. I hope you get your tubes tied so you don't have a baby. It's better if people like you don't breed" and "I shudder when I see such comments about not liking children". Yeah lady, whatever. I said I didn't LIKE them, I didn't say I like to HARM them. Sheesh. Like not being particularly enamored of children makes you a psychopath.

Why don't I like them? They are loud, uncontrollable, stinky, demanding, whiny little germ vectors. Having a kid is like having a time bomb....one minute, everything is fine, the next, the kid is melting down in Wal Mart because you said no to a pack of gum. It's like spending your whole day dealing with irrational people who don't speak English.

But see, here's the thing---I, and other "childhaters" like me are not a danger to your kid. YOU are. In my part of the state in the past two weeks, TWO fathers have KILLED their children. One asshold said he crushed the kid's liver while "wrestling". Um. Yeah. You don't "wrestle" with a 14 month old. The other one beat his teenage son to death over school related issues.

But remember, I am the monster.

I do no like them on a train, I do not like them in the rain......

Maybe some time I'll rant about how society is set up to favor people with kids, and how the rest of us are essentially told to put up and shut up......

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here