Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-02-15 - 2:24 p.m.
Gimme Gimme Gimme

My LORD, but there are a LOT of tacky, tacky, TACKY people in this world.

And a lot of them are planning weddings.

I'm doing a lot of wedding related internet surfing. And I am regularly scraping brain matter off the monitor from the head exploding things I read. Do people have NO MANNERS any more?

Wait. Don't answer that.

Cash bars and registry info ENCLOSED with the wedding invitations. I find these so tacky and classless. I really do. You serve what the budget can allow, whether that's full bar, beer and wine, or punch and cake. You don't say "well, we can serve cheese and crackers, but if someone wants a ham sandwich, well, they can pay for it". But that's the same thing as a cash bar, isn't it? People have no clue how to be the HOST. The whole Wedding Thing isn't about The Me Show, Starring Me, Directed by Me, Written by Me.....it's about hosting a celebration. The couple is supposed to think about the GUESTS' comfort and enjoyment at the reception.....not what they want.

This concept is totally lost on people. If I read one more "Well, it's OUR DAY, and we'll do whatever we want". Why bother with guests....call it what it is....a show, and charge admission. (My second fave head exploding comment has to do with "We're spending X on the guests for dinner and everything, so we should get X gifts from them". Um. KABOOM)

Oh...yeah....I was ranting about cash bars, wasn't I? Well, I just find them incredibly inhospitable. I don't invite people to my house AS GUESTS, then ask 'em for a buck for a can of pop. But some people say "I don't want to spend money for my guests to get drunk". Well then, you need a better class of friends, IMO. I've been going to family weddings all my life, all with open bars, and have NEVER seen a case of drunk and disorderly. Are people feelin' good? Yeah. But the crowd I run with isn't the "Cool...FREE BOOZE!! PAARRRTTTTTAAAAAY!" crowd.

Now. The whole registry thing....we registered, and I'm uncomfortable with the whole concept....tho' I realize it might be MORE rude to not register, since the reality is that people will want to give us gifts, and registering gives them a starting place. But to put the info in with the wedding invite?!?! AAAGH. Head explode. That turns it from an invitation to celebrate with the couple to a....demand.

And the dollar dance....I come from an ethnic background (hungarian) where that IS the custom. My family would not look askance at a dollar dance at my reception. But it's been co-opted by so many people who have NO ethnic tradition attached to it, that's it's become, IMO, another method of money grubbing. Beloved has a DJ friend who actually had a couple come to him after the reception and demand he pay them because he waited too late to do the dollar dance, and too many people had left, causing the couple to "lose money". Is this a celebration or a business venture? There will be no dollar dance at my wedding. If people really want to give us money, I am certain they will get it to us, without us resorting to extorting from them.

1 comments so far
djcolz - 2005-11-17 23:02:17
exelllent speech but what laungauge it in respect to trance music and the clubbers the make it worth while cya at room at the top
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here