Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-02-16 - 9:04 a.m.
Well, first of all...

Don't cry. That's what my boss said to me this morning when I called him from work to tell him that an engineer was on the way to deal with a catastrophic vault failure. How did he know that was going to be my next action?

Had a mistake in last night's playlist, which meant it would chain over to the wrong day this morning, resulting in dead air. I realized this, of course, immediately after I climbed into bed...so at 11:30, I hauled myself outta bed, got dressed, came to work (20 minutes each way) and fixed the error. And double checked to make SURE it was the right stuff. So you can imagine my dismay this morning at 7:58:30 when the cart didn't play and the classical music just kept going....the new station was just fine, but the other one was, as the engineer likes to say "off in the weeds". So I brushed my teeth, threw on clothes, and came running in, for the second time in nine hours, all the while berating myself..."how could I be so stupid? What did I do this time? Screw it..I'm gonna get a job at McDonald's" So it was a combination of relief and hopelessness when I came in and saw the big red "ABORT" on the screen. Two warm boots and a cold boot didn't fix the problem, so I called an engineer...I don't like to mess with AV server reboots.

ARGH. That's all I'm sayin'. This new station thing doesn't seem to be ruining anyone else's life around here....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here