Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-01-30 - 10:24 p.m.
Wednesday Ramblings

Wowee! Those banner ads DO work!

Hi Everybody!

Now I'm all nervous, what with new people stopping in to read now. Oh well. You may get sick of my bitching, but I'll say one thing for my writing...I'm a good speller and usually use correct grammar.

Hoooo Boy....are things getting tense around the old workplace! The clock on the wall says three days until the new station is "officially" launched, and people are on their last nerves. Staph meeting was interesting...the boss came right out and said he was mad and that we'd better toe the line. Now, here's the thing...the boss and I get along great....I think we understand each other pretty well, and have some of the same insecurities. The thing is, he's managed to overcome some of his, which is why he is the boss. So anyhow....he was venting to me later this afternoon about stuff and things, and I came right out and just asked "That being mad stuff...it wasn't about me, was it?" (Because I have a complex whereby I think EVERYTHING is my fault/responsibility) He explained that no, it wasn't, he's pissed because he's overhearing stuff on both ends of the building (admin and programming) which leads him to believe that people are viewing the second signal as nothing more than a big pain in the ass, which interferes with their lives. Hmmm. I smell the work of the Diva. He was rightfully pissed off, because if ANYONE is taking on the major burden, it's him. I borrowed what he called his "martyr shirt" for a moment and fumed "interfering with WHOSE life? If I recall the past month correctly, *I* am the one who has had the MOST responsibility for getting the second station running in some semblance of a normal schedule". He agreed and we bitched about the Diva some more. I'm convinced she is the one who dipped me in the shit the other day with the volunteer. Where is my can of Diva B Gone when I need it? Ugh. She just likes to come in and stir up trouble, then watch the consequences of what she's put in motion.

So. Boss and I are on good terms, which is important. Second station will be fine, I just know it. And while people will be pissed off at first (change is bad and scary, you know), I think, in the end, we will please more people than we peeve.

In other news, I interviewed Terry Gross (host of NPR's Fresh Air) today. I admit, I was nervous. One, because I had visions of that Chris Farley sketch from SNL...where he'd interview people he idolized, like Paul McCartney, and ask stupid questions like "remember, when you were in the Beatles? That was cool" I mean, Terry Gross is GOOD. But she was kind to me, and we had a nice interview.

And in wedding news--Beloved called the church and is now working on his transfer of membership from his old church in his home town. His parents are on the case....and his dad is an elder, so hopefully, he can make sure things work out. AFTER Beloved joins, he can reserve the church. The church lady told him that the only day this fall that's totally booked is 9/21. Which is ok by me, because that gives us plenty of other days to choose from. I keep hearing "ohhhhhh. THIS fall? That will be hard to do!" I made the point yesterday that it's nine months away, and "you can create an entirely new human being in that time. Certainly you can plan a wedding!" I swear, I think the whole "be engaged and plan your wedding for a year" stuff is another ploy by the bridal industry to get us to spend more money on our Perfect Day. I think I broke a bride rule by finding my dress on my first day out. No, it didn't bring tears to the eyes of everyone in the room, but it looks damn good on me, and will be just fine. I asked J, the woman who introduced Beloved and me, to be my third (and final) bridesmaid, and she was really excited. It keeps surprising me, how excited other people are. (But I keep mentioning that, don't I?) The only person at work who hasn't said A WORD to me, not congratulations, not "OH god, don't do it!", NOTHING...is the Diva. Whatever. I don't want fawning, but even a quiet acknowledgement would have been....polite.

Geeze. I am surrounded at that place by women who can't bear to be out of the spotlight. Freaky.

We have freezing rain falling. I HOPE we don't have skating in the morning. I'm not in the mood to chisel my car out of a block of ice at 6:30 a.m.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here