Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-01-31 - 9:01 a.m.
Burgers and weather

Happy little finding this morning...Burger King lets you order hamburgers for breakfast! Yum. I'm not very fond of breakfast food, and a cheeseburger just hits the spot!

Anyway.....

What IS the deal with people and the weather? Hmm? Specifically bad weather. There's this snow and ice thing that's marching its way across the midwest, and the news people have been doing the chicken little thing for a couple of days now. "oooooo. Winter Weather WATCH in the area. We could get BAAAAD weather". Hey. It's the midwest in January. You were expecting hurricanes? And, as usual, when they predict near apocalyptic storms, nothing much happens. We had some ice. I think it took me five minutes to get my car ready to go. It's pouring rain right now, and there are some power outages, but driving isn't bad. Big woo. But I'm listening to the radio on the way to and from skating (yes, my station) and our morning person has this sense of urgency to her voice that was beginning to annoy me. "I'll have the updated school announcements for you in just ten minutes". There were hardly any, and they were north of town. Again---Big woo. Why not have the news be "Hey--it wasn't as bad as we thought!"? And the tv people are worse. There's at least one "the world is ending" storm a winter. And the sheeple who watch the tayvee nooze and think the anchors are real celebs then run out to the grocery story, but up all the milk and eggs, and get into fights with other patrons over the last gallon of bottled water. For NO GOOD REASON. Unless you live out in the boonies, the longest you'll be "stranded" is, oh, a day. I dunno about you, but I have enough foodstuffs in my house to last me a long, LONG time. It may not be exactly what I want at that exact moment, but I ain't gonna starve in 24 hours. But the sheeple panic and have to make sure they have Lunchables and Pizza Rolls and cheese doodles for the duration. And I really do hold media partly responsible for inciting those panics over the weather.

Is it because we can't control the weather, so we feel a bit like Pa Ingalls during the long winter when a storm hits us? Like we're using our own pioneer spirit and pluck to survive? Because if that's the case, we are really stupid. Pa didn't have Lunchables and videos from Blockbuster to keep the kiddies amused on snow days, the way we do.

And storms in the summer! Good lord. If you aren't smart enough to know that when the sky turns black and the wind picks up, that means a storm's a coming, ma, well, then, you deserve your trip to Oz. But around here, the warnings go off non stop, the crawls are on the screen....it's ridiculous.

I mean, shouldn't people be given credit for having enough brains to come in outta the rain/snow/sleet/tornado?

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here