Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-12-15 - 11:10 a.m.
Potential Dream House

You know that thing I wrote about being nicer? I just don't see it happening. I think I am Popeye--I yam what I yam. I TRY to be kind and understanding and patient and all that crap, but I'm just....not.

Work was kind of nutsy the past two days...not a in a bad way, just in a busy way. I was in a meeting with the GM, two engineers and Ops manager for almost two hours yesterday, talking about second signal stuff. Chief engineer I love. We say "we need X" and he says "Oh, that's easy. We can do that. No problem". Other engineer says "Why do you need x? Oh. You don't want x, you want the new superdigital all fiber optic Y. I wouldn't even bother with X. Y is what you want". Argh. Trust us. We want X.

In preparation for this meeting, I had to automate my entire shift. And I give myself a 90-95% on it....one boo boo at the end, where we had 30 seconds of silence. I guess I counted breaks wrong, and all the spots had played. Oh well. At least no train wrecks. I joked with my boss that now that I've figured out automating the entire shift, I'd just wait till everyone had gone for the day, pop it into automation and take off.

Beloved and I had a quiet night last night. It was nice. I just love sleeping all snuggled up with him. He's a very polite sleeper...doesn't move much, hardly ever snores. Doesn't even fart in his sleep. (Or when he's awake, either. I'm waiting for him to explode one day) Once in awhile he hogs the covers. I, OTOH, commit all the sleeping sins, though he claims he never hears me make any noise. "Oh, you don't SNORE....sometimes you breathe really deeply, though".

A gentleman, he is.

Speaking of breathing....my damn nose is getting to be quite the problem. Beloved left early this morning, and while he was in the bathroom, I was awakened by the feeling of my head.....filling up. I could just feel the pressure, etc, building in my sinuses. So I had to spend half an hour dealing with that before I could go back to sleep. I wonder if I have allergies, or if I've messed up my sinuses or something. I should get back on the NasalCrom for awhile and see if things improve. I don't like that stuff because it stings like hell. What a baby I am!

I should do something productive today. Really I should. Should do some tidying in the basement....the furnace company keeps calling and asking me to schedule an appointment (already paid for) for them to do the seasonal check up on the furnace, but I haven't called them back because the basment is too gross. How stupid is that? I should also finish my cards and maybe even wrap some packages. Beloved and I are doing some shopping tonight.

I was driving home the other day and found Potential Dream House. I love this house. The listing says two car gar, but it's a three bay garage. It's like a junior mansion. The neighborhood is in transition. There used to be a hospital across the street, but it was torn down last year....there are some boarded up houses down the block, but those appear to be being repaired now, as opposed to being left to rot. It's a definite city street, but in this town, that's not too bad. And the PRICE. That's a buttload of house for that price. Housing prices here are great. I have a 3 br, 1200 squ foot house, built in 1926, that I paid 54 K for three years ago. And this is a NICE neighborhood. There's a gorgeous park and golf course just down the street, and the neighborhood backs up to Taylor University. (It's a Christian school, and the students really are nice neighbors to have) Now, if I were to try to buy a house in the area where my parents live, you couldn't get ANYTHING for what I paid, and you couldn't get much for 100K. But I love the older homes, and like living where I live. So I am trying to convince Beloved that we want to at least LOOK at the house. (Actually, he did say we could call the agent and look...and I pointed out that the agent would want to sell us something. )It could be all skanky inside or something, and we'd immediately know it was Not For Us. But it DOES have the criteria we've talked about...more than one bathroom, room for him to have a workshop....etc. It looks like an old people house....you know....people have lived there a long time, and they haven't NOT taken care of it, but it does need some landscaping, etc.

Oh well. Maybe they will have an open house, and we can go then.

So. Enough rambling for now, I think. Perhaps I will take a nice bath, with my Johnson's baby bath stuff...I love that soothing vapor bath when I have a stuffy nose. Try it. It's great!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here