Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-11-24 - 10:05 a.m.
OK, let's try this again....

AAAARGH. SHIT DAMN HELL.

I had a long and lovely entry going, complete with a rant about Beloved's work, and a recipe for Stuffed Cabbage, and it's GONE. My Internet Call Waiting showed a message, and when I clicked, it didn't open a new window, it used the one that was open. With my unfinished entry. WAAAAH.

So....anyway. T-Day was long, but pretty good. Started off early by going to see his folks (and doing the church thing....I've been to church four times in the past month, which is a lifetime record). After church we watched the parade and sat around until it was time to leave for my folks' house.

His family is very nice, but they are....kind of boring. Lots of TV watching, not much talking of substance. But it's weird....when they try to talk to him, he sort of just stays focused on the tv. He even said he gets kind of bored after a couple of hours there. I think maybe they don't have a lot in common.

As soon as we pulled into my parents' driveway, he tells me he has to leave later to go to work for an hour. This peeved me on two fronts. One--that he waited until we were about to go in the house to tell me this. He does this with stuff he thinks won't make me happy....he just puts off telling me until he has no choice. Two--the mere fact that he had to go at all....hello....the reason the regular hosts are there is because they are going to be with their LOVED ONES all day. THAT is what is important to them. And Beloved gets taken advantage of (yes, he allows himself to be taken advantage of) on a regular basis. Shit job? Let's get him to do it. Pisses me off.

So. Anyway. My family was fun. Cousin J and I decided part of why we are so fun is because we are so "non Jerry Springer like". No one gets in a fight after two beers, there's no sniping or meanness....sounds hokey, but there's just a lotta looooove. My parents and aunt and uncle are even planned to move to Florida together in a year or so. Lots of laughing and talking. It's cool.

Uncle Z and Aunt S brought a tape of my cousin, Little Z, who happens to be the mascot for the Washington Wizards....we'd never seen Little Z in action....VERY IMPRESSIVE. (and now our family is 6 degrees from Michael Jordan) Who knew his gymnastics training would lead to him becoming G-Man?

My cabbage was a hit, as were my pies. Had some apple pie later that evening...damn, but I make good pie!

Now, before you go wrinkling your nose at the whole idea of stuffed cabbage, hold on a sec. It's really quite mellow and tasty. I can't eat too much because of my tempramental gut, but I LOVE the stuff. Here's my recipe, if you want to try it.....

The cabbage must be prepared before rolling.

To prepare: In large pot boil water for steaming and add the WHOLE head of cabbage. (or two, depending on how much you want to make.) I like to score the leaves around the core...then they come right off as they soften.

Cool the leaves, then trim off the hard spiny area at the base.

Get a pound or two of sauerkraut and RINSE WELL.

Saute an onion (or more, if you like) in olive oil, lard (hyeah, right) or bacon fat until translucent. Add a cup or cup and a half of washed rice to that, and stir it around. Remove from heat and let it cool.

You'll need about a pound each of ground beef and pork. Combine with salt, pepper, and paprike to taste (Approximately: 1/2 to 1 tbs. salt and pepper each At least: 1 tbs. of paprika or more.) (I throw in some marjoram....if you don't use that, put a bay leaf or two in while it cooks)

Add an egg, then the cooled onion and rice mixture. Squish around till it's well mixed.

Then it's time to roll....

Start with the largest leaves.

Put approximately 1 tbs. or more (depending on the size of the leaf) of the meat and rice mixture on a cabbage leaf near the vein and roll.

Roll completely then push each end in with your finger to seal the roll

Place this cabbage roll in a large pot, seam side down. (You can use a crock pot, too)

Chop up any unused leaves and throw them in the pot.

Layer in the sauerkraut, put in a can of tomatoes and some tomato juice (V-8 works, too), maybe a pinch of sugar.

Simmer, partially covered for 1 1/2 to 2 hours - all day on low in a crock pot.

TAH DAH! T�lt�tt K�poszta. YUUUUM. Really. (Even my direct from Hungary uncle likes it) It goes well with nice bread and butter, and pork chops. Some people serve it with a dollop of sour cream...that's how I had it in Hungary. It's even better the next day, too. If you like, you can throw in some smoked pork while it's cooking...my late grandma used to do that.

One of my cousins put together a cookbook for everyone...has some of grandma's recipes and other family favorites...it's really quite impressive. I'm going to make Goulash tonight, I think. (Must go to the International Grocery to get fresh paprika) Beloved is at football game, and his should wait on the stove ok until he gets home.

It was great to have time to visit with cousin J....as Beloved says, we seem more like sisters. We just talk and talk and talk. Her boyfriend is way cool, too. He was a corporate lawyer at one time...but he's retired from that and sells brewery memorabilia online. (No, he's not old, just lucky!) His web site is Breweriana. Every time I see him, I'm bummed that mom threw out my beer cans! J was telling me about one divorcing couple who has to split the property...including a beer can/memoriabilia collection worth about $250K. Can you believe that?!

So anyway, that's what's been going on here. If anyone tries the cabbage, let me know how it turns out.

Oh, and do you know what Beloved said last night? He called me his soulmate. No one's ever called me a soulmate before.....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here