Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-11-20 - 11:23 p.m.
Road trip

All I can say is thank god I like my boss. We were in the car for about 5 hours today, and lemme tell ya, I can think of LOTS of people I wouldn't want to spend that time in a vehicle with. We chatted a lot going to and from Indy, about both work stuff and personal/chatty stuff. It was nice.

But god...what a hick I felt like, there in the big city. It's been awhile since I've been in a real city, that's for sure. The meeting could have been worse, I s'pose. There was about an hour of interconnection talk with some tech guy. T1 lines, and dedicated bandwidth....after a certain point it all began to sound like "blah blah blah blah" to me. But I grasped the basic premise, I think.

Then an hour or so on getting a statehouse reporter via the folks at Network IN. They are geared toward commercial radio, but we use their reports with no problem....but some of the snottier news poindexters were getting all high and mighty about "NPR Quality" and worrying that the commerical reporters weren't going to be able to reach our lofty (coff, coff) standards. I don't like the term "Public radio quality". I much prefer "public radio STYLE". Because the way they were talking was very much in the "our farts don't stink" vein, and it was arrogant. I told the boss on the way home, "I wanted to say "Geeze people, get OVER yourselves already", but couldn't figure out a diplomatic way to do that. So I didn't say anything". I mean, it was insulting to these Network IN guys. It's like "eeeeuwwwww....COMMERCIAL broadcasters..icky poo". My take on the matter is that we're bitching about not having a Statehouse reporter, Network IN can help ameliorate that problem, at least for a year, AND they are willing to work with us regarding content and style, why not give it a shot? 'Cuz we sure ain't gonna get our own reporter before the legislative session begins in January. Thank goodness my boss agrees with me.

Came home (later than expected) and waited for the Beloved to come get me, then we went over to my folks' house, had some dinner and made stuffed cabbage for Thanksgiving. Yes, we have turkey, but this Hungarian family also has cabbage. Beloved even put on a frilly apron while he did his work....he was a big help, especially since the stuff grosses him out. I love it, but it kills my stomach. :(

Off work tomorrow...YAY! Going to mom and dad's to make pies during the day. I should tidy my house....I hope no one in my family is going to want to SEE my house, because it is a pigsty, and I don't think I could make it "tour ready" in just a couple hours tomorrow.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here