Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-11-08 - 9:11 p.m.
Woo hoo!

Yay me and all that. A week or so ago, my computer died. Kaputski. Wouldn't even boot to the cmos menu. I figured the hard drive, which had been making ominous noises for months, had finally died. Turns out, I wasn't entirely correct.

I decided I'd see if I could install it in my new computer and see if by some small chance, I could get it to work and could transfer stuff to the new one. So I jumpered it to be a slave, stuck it in, and wowee...it actually worked. So I was able to salvage some stuff, including my Eudora and the attendant mailboxes....which include all the email I've ever received at home from the Beloved. I am very happy about that....I think it was the modern version of losing love letters in a fire. There are a few bugs, but at least now I know that it CAN work, and all my stuff isn't lost.

Had a bit of a scare, though....at one point I went to boot up the computer, and got an "Operating system not found" message. Butt clench city. Turned out an IDE cable thingy wasn't tight. Phew.

So I'm quite pleased with myself, even though I realize what I did was probably small potatoes for most people. Hey...I take my victories where I can, yanno?

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here