Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-08-13 - 8:38 a.m.
I. Am. APPALLED.

Here's an email exchange from an industry list I am on. Names have been removed to protect the guilty. (However, I will be making note of the names, to insure that I never work for any of these people)

-----Original Message-----

Subject: news director interview questions

We are preparing to interview candidates for News Director. In over 25

years, I've always inherited them and never had to hire one (they don't

turn over much, I guess).

We're looking for some good questions to ask the candidates. Do you

have any suggestions?

Thanks.

-----Original Message-----

Subject: Re: news director interview questions

ask some questions they won't expect...something non-routine.

like in all of broadcast journalism, who do you most look up to, would

you like to emulate.

if they say Edward R. Murrow, hire them. If they say Ted Baxter, end the

interview.

-----Original Message-----

Subject: Re: news director interview questions

Questions tell only half the story in evaluating folks to work in our

highly

stressful, creative, deadline driven industry.

This really only works with out of town candidates.....but...If you

really

want to see how some one handles stress, cut the ride to the airport for

the

flight realy close. You stay calm and see how they handle the stress of

missing their flight.

That tells you more about what kind of employee they will be then any

question you can ask.

PS--if you consider this unethical then I got this tactic from another

GM.

_____________________________________

There was also a message in there about having a stack of old Time and Newsweek mags, and quizzing the candidate about the cover stories.

I'm really appalled. And you know why? Because I read the ad, and it had those notorious words "Salary commensurate with experiece". I would be willing to bet you a paycheck that they're talking less that 40K. They want a combination of Walter Cronkite and Cokie Roberts, and they want to pay shit. They want to play little games with the candidate. I find that whole airport thing disgusting.

No wonder I'm disillusioned with this industry....am I insane? Is this really how the world is? Because I want to get off now.

2 comments so far
LA - 2004-08-13 10:33:53
I suppose asking a potential news director about current events is fair enough, but that other crap? Nuh uh. Gross. Underhanded. And ultimately self-defeating and stupid. Why would someone looking for a quality employee jerk them around before they're even hired? (Afterward isn't any better, but jeeze louise at least offer a paycheck with the abuse.) ~LA
-------------------------------
colz - 2004-08-13 10:40:05
Yeah, I'm ok with the current events stuff, but the whole tone of the conversation...I mean, they are looking for someone who comes to work at 4 or 5 every morning and hosts drive time, THEN does other newsie stuff....and the pay is squat. (I'm sure....pay is squat everywhere in this industry....) c'mon lotto....
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here