Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-08-09 - 11:31 a.m.
Oh. My. I didn't expect THAT reaction

Well now, HERE'S a little something to discuss with the shrink......

Husband continued The Never Ending Drainage Project this weekend. Part of the project necessitated getting rid of a portion of the cement sidewalk that curved around the corner of the house. He tried his giant pry bar. He tried his masonry saw blade.

Finally, he decided to try the sledge hammer. I came out while he was hammering, and asked if I could whack a few time.

It was better than sex. I took this hand sledge and just whammed that concrete. Split the section in half, and kept hammering. Every time that hammer came down an pulverized a little more concrete, I felt some kind of release. Husband is afraid he will come home one day to find that we have no sidewalks left.

It kind of scared me, really.

I think there's a lot of stuff in me that is pushed down really far, so I can be "proper". When in reality, I have it in me to beat the hell outta stuff.....and like it.

Saturday evening, we went to a vow renewal ceremony/celebration for someone Husband used to work with. Lemme tell you, 30 years of marriage when the couple still loves each other (and LIKES each other) IS something to celebrate, maybe even more than the orignal marriage ceremony. This couple married two months after they met, and bets were being taken at their reception as to how long it would last. The whole thing gives me hope that in another 20 years, it IS possible that Husband and I will still like each other, that we'll be glad we made the choice we made, and that, well, we'll be happy. Because so many people...aren't. They are together out of habit, or for the kids, or for financial reasons, or religious reasons, or whatever....but they don't really LIKE each other. And that sucks. It seems like there are more of those kinds of relationships than people who are happy over the long term, and it can get kind of discouraging.....

Anyway...here's to love....

1 comments so far
Pandionna - 2004-08-09 12:27:07
There is nothing more satisfying than pounding the crap out of an inanimate object. I love perpetrating destruction. LOVE it. So jealous you got to wreak havoc on concrete. That's the epitome of catharsis. I DREAM of doing that. Lucky you! Heh.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here