Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-01-06 - 11:11 p.m.
The last blind date

Four years ago tonight, I went on my last blind date. I knew it was my last blind date before it even began. I have had several set ups/blind dates, and none of them went well.

Until four years ago.

Co-worker J used to be Husband's co-worker, and she thought we would get along well. So after he broke up with long term GF D, and things ended with transitional woman D, he turned to J on New Year's Eve of 2000 and said "I think I want to have that dinner now". See, J had told him about me, and that she wanted to introduce us.

So that morning, I went to work, and J said "come to dinner tonight. S will be there".

GULP.

How can I lose 50 pounds by 7 o'clock? "Does he know I'm....not thin?"

"Don't worry."

I worried. After I got off work, I went to J's house (which is about two blocks away from mine). Imagine my relief when I walked into the dining room and saw before me a guy who was, for all intents and purposes, BALD! So while I was spending my afternoon worrying about how to be thin by seven o'clock, he was probably wishing he could grow hair.

It was a nice evening. I didn't eat much, as my IBS was really on a tear at that point, but we talked and got along well. Around 11, I decided to leave, since I knew he was doing mornings and had to get up early. I thought "hmmm. I'll walk to my car slowly, just in case he wants to follow me".

I'll be damned. He DID follow me. According to J, as soon as I left...zoom...he grabbed his coat and was outta there. I gave him my number. He called J the next day to thank her for the dinner and introduction....and to let her know that he was going to call me. And he did. Our first real date was to see "The Talented Mr. Ripley". He made me laugh in the car on the way to the theater. He kissed me goodnight. We went out some more.

That's J and her husband under the white blobs in the wedding picture .

3 comments so far
Lady M - 2004-01-07 03:11:54
Know that I am being completely sincere and non-sarcastic when I say: Awww.... Congratulations, you two.
-------------------------------
LA - 2004-01-07 09:03:59
Where would we be without good friends? And as I hope I told you before, you were an awesome bride. ~LA
-------------------------------
Pandionna - 2004-01-07 13:21:27
I love entries like this. Makes me happy.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here