Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2003-07-26 - 12:27 p.m.
Coming to terms

I had this friend. We grew up in the same neighborhood, she was a couple of years older than me, and we hung out together when I was in middle school and she was in high school, and after, while she lived in town. I was in her wedding, when I was 17.

We kept in touch sporadically as we both moved around. She moved to the Chicago area, I moved to Kansas, then back to Indiana, then to Ohio, then back again to Indiana. She and her family moved to Pennsylvania. She has four kids. I haven't seen her since the oldest was a baby. We sent birthday cards and christmas cards, and once in a while, there was an email. But basically, we fell out of touch. I invited her and her husband to my wedding, and they sent back regrets, which is fine. But there was not even a card in the mail, nor a personal note on the reply card saying "good luck". I sent a Christmas card. No card from her.

Today is her birthday, and I have been stewing all week because I didn't get a card in the mail to her. Finally, yesterday, I had an epiphany.

It's ok. It's ok to not send a card, it's ok to let the friendship die. We weren't a part of each others' lives any more, not really. I don't have to feel bad that I didn't send a card. It's done. And that is ok. It doesn't mean I am a bad person. It just means that our lives went in different directions and it's too hard to keep a relationship going.

It's OK. I'm not some kind of failure.

Can ya tell...I'm having a hard time with this, for whatever reason?

In other news...

Pretty average week around the radio ranch. Probably why there was so little updating...not much to say.

I will say this, however. TIVO RULES. We've had the dang thing operational for two days, and I am in love.

Now...off to see what TIVO has for me...

Exercise done this week: Weights on Tu and TH, walk after work on Wed, and an hour long fitness yoga today.

Pounds lost so far: TWELVE!!! Yay me!

1 comments so far
LA - 2003-07-26 19:55:50
Wondered where you'd been. Now I find out you've been off turning into Mrs America, you sneaky svelte thing you. Good work. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here