Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-10-06 - 10:31 p.m.
Travel story

Before I launch into The Story Of Our Trip, let me just share a gut related observation with you. While on the ship, five days, I had no, zip, zilch, zero, nada problems with my tempramental tum. Nothing. And I ate. Oh boy, did I eat. Rich, real food, and a lot of it. Not a gurgle, not one bit of pain.

Till tonight. You know, vacation's over, gotta go to work tomorrow? Ay yi yi....

Hm. Ya think it's stress related?

Now. The cruise. LOVED IT. Sent a short entry while on board, but it I kept getting a "can't find server" message. Grr.

Anyway. By the time we got on the ship, I wasn't a happy camper. Hadn't eaten all day, and was a bit disoriented, not to mention tired....we'd been up since 4. The life boat drill about did me it. I looked at Husband and said "You were right, we should have gone to Vegas". A woman nearby laughed and said "Don't worry, it gets much better". It did. I was SO sad for this trip to be over, and I am NEVER like that....I usually get homesick a day or two into it. Not this time. I'm busy thinking of ways for us to change careers to something on a cruise ship. It was just five days of doing what I damn well wanted, when I wanted. And oh god the sleep. The delicious sleep. I haven't slept that well since I don't know when. Even Husband slept till ten a couple of days...he NEVER does that. It has something to do with the ship's movement and sound.

Speaking of movement....hurricane Lily changed our trip for us...instead of Grand Cayman and Cozumel, we hit the Bahamas instead. Hey, it's all good....it's sunny and warm...I don't care where we go. The first day at sea was kind of rough, though, due to the storms...10 to 12 foot waves. The ship was doing a lot of moving, but luckily neither of us felt sick. I had a stash of scopolamine patches from my dr, just in case, but we didn't need them. Yay us!

The food....oh my. I ate seafood 4 out of 5 nights. Plenty of food, and it was good. And I firmly believe the world would be a better place if we all stopped for cookies and lemonade at 3:30 every afternoon. It became very easy to become one of those people who just lived from meal to meal. I'm surprised we don't both weigh 400 pounds, since all we did was sit around and walk from meal to meal. (OK, there was other stuff, it being the honeymoon and all....)

The relaxation was wonderful. I would go again in a heartbeat. Just sitting on deck, reading my book, bobbing in the pool now and then. God, I could live like that all the time. (yeah, I'm a lazy ass) About day 3, I figured it out, I think. (At least in my case) It's not so much that the cruise per se makes life so great, but the fact that all those people in life who piss you off aren't there on the ship. That's what makes it great.....no bosses, no family, no co workers. Just me and my sweetie, and the ocean.

Ahhhh. T'was bliss.

I will probably throw up tomorrow morning.....gotta work on that cruise career....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here