Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-10-09 - 8:05 a.m.
Back to the real world

OH good. Someone doing a 'net search for "thirty something females" got my journal. I bet THEY were thrilled.

I wrote an entry yesterday, but the server went down or something after I clicked "done", and it vanished into the ether. It wasn't much of a masterpiece, and I didn't feel like writing it again, so I didn't bother, other than to say "dammit...argh".

Back to work has been....ok. I mean, I'd still rather be on the ship, yanno? Doesn't help that fall has arrived here in Indiana, so I'm freezing my ass off in 60 degree weather. Winter should be thrilling....

Have a couple meetings today...the only good thing about the noon meeting is that they're buying us lunch. At ten it's staff meeting, which I hate loathe and despise. Our fund drive is coming up, and I think I want to cry. It's just so much damn work. You know how you hate fund drives from the listener's point of view? It's about a million times worse for us. At least you can turn it off and go do something else.

Have an interesting anecdote about The Angry Bridesmaid. She and I were quite civil and friendly the whole weekend of the wedding. I had decided that I was NOT going to have any unpleasantness. It was to be a fun weekend, and there would be no snark. (I know, hard to believe from me, but true) Well, it turns out that AB sent up a couple of snark trial balloons with my Matron of Honor. Who promptly shot her balloons down, with such politeness and class I can't even believe it. MOH was asked if she was bringing her son to the wedding/reception. "Oh no. It was supposed to be a child free wedding. That's what colz wanted. We got him a sitter. I know they have a sitter, because she's my regular one, but we found another one, because we just didn't want to add to the hassle of the day by bringing him here." Then later, there was a trial balloon of "I can't believe she's having such a big wedding. Weren't you surprised that she wanted such a fancy wedding?"

MOH: "Why, did you have a small wedding?"

AB: "No, we had a pretty large one" MOH: "Well, I guess it was just her dream to have this kind of day".

Finally, there was some confusion about who sat where at the head table. I didn't care. All *I* knew was that Husband and I sat in the middle somewhere.

AB to MOH: "I can't believe she doesn't know where she wants us. Everything else has been so organized."

MOH: "It doesn't matter. Just sit. My husband and I are sitting here".

Said MOH when relating this story "I think after that she decided not to talk to me any more".

Interestingly, I got a really nice email from the bridesmaid, thanking me several times for including her, telling me how much she enjoyed being a part of things. So I don't know what's going on there. Maybe she got some kind of wake up call that hey, I do have friends who are SUPPORTIVE of me, and maybe she should play nicer. I dunno. But I love my MOH for having my back like that.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here