Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-07-28 - 6:36 p.m.
Hmm. Work tomorrow, eh?

Another usual Sunday. Not too bad, though. We're starting to feel very Old Married Couple, and I like it. I like it a lot. We went out to the local Fancy Mall to look at storage stuff from Bed, Bath and Beyond. I could spend a million bucks in there, I just know I could. And not be one iota more organized for the effort. Wait. I take that back. I spent 7 bucks on a junk drawer organizer, and my junk drawer has been perfectly organized for months now.

Wonder how much a junk house organizer is.

Beloved bought a shelf for his "new" closet, as well as some of those space bags....you know, you put the stuff in, hook the bag to a vacuum, and presto, a wafer of clothes. We want to see if they work as well as they are supposed to, as we will be living in the House of No Closets. If we can move the giant closet unit to the basement, and get it put back together again, we can store stuff down there, but the space bags could help insure that the stuff doesn't wind up smelling like basement when we retrieve it.

So. Small bit of progress. I'm thinking it's about time for us to rent the storage unit and just....jump right in. I think I'm ready to get rid of my waterbed, as much as I love it. Beloved's bed is nice and comfy and we won't have to deal with high or low tide.....

Weird thing when we were leaving church today. As we're leaving the pew, a woman says to me, "Excuse me, are you colz?" "Yes". "Oh. I'm (The Kantor's Wife), he mentioned that he met with you about your music, and he said he really enjoyed meeting you....he said you weren't a silly little bride". I love it. I totally love it. I think Beloved and I both laughed at that. I can't even imagine what kind of crap the Kantor has to deal with. First, there's the "Here Comes the Bride" argument. (Can't use it in our church. Can't use it in lots of churches.) Then there's the non-sacred music argument. (It's a worship service, so all music must be in some way "sacred". No Shania Twain) And I can't imagine what else he deals with.....especially in a world where so few people know much about classical music....they don't even know what to ask for.

The Kantor's wife was quite nice, and I made sure to tell her how much I enjoy the children's choir...it's amazing how she can get those kids to sing so beautifully. AMAZING. She said "Oh, you just make sure they only have time to sing, and nothing else."

It dawned on me later that I was sitting in front of a choir director and behind a choir member. I can't actually carry a tune, even if you duct tape it to my ass. I sure THEY had quite the treat this morning....

From the people are stupid category: I'm selling some magazines on Ebay....if they don't sell, I'll pitch 'em. Selling the whole lot of 6. I described the cover stories of each, gave the dates, the condition of the magazines. I get an email from someone who said "Can you give me more information?" Um. Yes. But what the hell is your question? There's not much else to tell, other than what's in the description. I'd be happy if he said "who are the Blindfold Session guests?" or "are there any articles about Buddy Rich?" But something so general.....sorry...not wearing my Carnac hat today....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here