Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-05-26 - 11:40 p.m.
Weekend adventures

We've been busy, busy, busy this weekend, but it's all good. And we have tomorrow off. WOO HOO.

Last night, we went to the wedding of a co-worker of Beloved. Unfortunately, Evil Troll Ex the co-worker was also there, and I had to look at her troll profile during parts of the ceremony. AND I was sociable when we were standing on the church steps afterward. UGH. When she speaks to me, she looks THROUGH me. It's freaky. And rude. Luckily, we did not run into her any more at the reception. I did get to visit with the wife of another of Beloved's co-workers, a woman I find just hilarious, and would like to see more than once a year.

We got a lot of "you're next!" comments from folks, which was kind of fun. The interesting thing is, I was looking at the proceedings from a guest's point of view, as well as a bride's. On Friday, Beloved and I had aNOTHER discussion about kids at the wedding. I'm getting paranoid about it again. I have no problem with the in town people...if they can't find a sitter for a night, well, we'll miss them, I guess. It's the out of towners, and specifically his sisters. First of all, if all the out of towners brought their kids, we'd have something like FIFTEEN kids under five. Uh uh. No way. So despite the fact that he dislikes kids more than I do (if that's possible), he seemed to think that if kids came to the ceremony, it wouldn't be a problem, and he didn't understand why they'd be a problem at the reception. Fine.

Scene Two: The wedding. First of all, I have NEVER been in a church that was that LOUD. Before we were even seated, I could hear some kid screaming. All through the service (including during the vows, of course) there was kidnoise. At one point, a kid in the balcony was POUNDING on something. WTF?!?! We got in the car and I said "Now do you understand the point I was trying to make last night? If those kids were at MY wedding, I would be very upset". He understood. My concern is that he be the diplomat in this case and talk to his family and make sure I will not forever more be ThatEvilChildhatingBitchWhoDidn'tWantKidsAtHerWedding. He doesn't seem to grasp the importance of this. Basically, he needs to present it as WE have decided to have an adult evening, and WE have arranged for child care at the venue.

Which I still need to do. But DAMN. I would hope that our family and friends would have more respect for us than to let their kids run rampant.

OK...on to stuff I noticed as a guest. Item 1--photos after the wedding....while guests sit around at the reception, unable to eat or dance or do much of anything for an hour. Made me really glad we're doing ours beforehand. Once we're married, we are off to the party.

Item 2...get the Have Tos outta the way. We were probably nearly three hours into the reception before we could get up and dance. The couple finally arrived, then dinner, then first dance, parents' dance, money dance, cake cutting, then more special dances, and FINALLY, Dancing for Civillians. Again, our photographer to the rescue. He suggests we cut the cake first off, have our dance, and THEN have dinner. While we're having dinner, the cake can be cut and served for dessert. Yay photographer.

It also made me realize how we have certain ideas about how a wedding Should Be from our family weddings. Almost all the weddings I've been to around here have had cash bar. I happen to think that's...less than gracious. But no one has a problem with it, and people have been surprised when I've said we're going with an open bar because we just don't care for cash bars. Now, my family background is FAR from wealthy, heck my GRANDPARENTS were just off the boat, but a cash bar would just Not Be Done. The other thing is the menu. Plenty of food last night, but it was chicken wings and meatballs and cold cuts. I suggested that as an alternative to my parents, who both said "no, let's not do that". THEY are the ones who said "let's go with a sit down meal. It's much nicer to serve your guests than to make them go through a buffet line". So I'm wondering if people are going to think we're "puttin' on airs" or what. The puttin on airs thing is far more likely around here, where anything different or "classy" is looked upon with suspicion. But again, in our family, if you have an evening reception with dinner and dancing, you go all out. We could have done punch and cake, but chose not to.

Mind you, I'm not bitching about last night (other than Evil Troll Ex!), it was a fun nice, good company, tasty food. I'm just....observing.

But ugh. SO glad we decided NOT to do the money dance! The DJ was "selling" it. "C'mon, only one dollar, Groom has his credit card machine if you want to pay more". "They need money for their honeymoon". Yikes.

OK. Enough wedding babble. Though mine is in 17 weeks and I cannot wait!

Other stuff this weekend....got the electric trimmer working. It was in the shed when I bought the house. I need a DAMN long extension cord, but it whacks the weeds Beloved can't get with his mower. We fixed ANOTHER problem downspout, and I mulched. Need more mulch, but things look much better. And we grilled out, which was fun. I love how we are figuring out our domestic patterns.

Tomorrow? Movie, probably. Might take out some shrubs at his house. The estimate to fix his bathroom in order to make his house sellable is 2700. YIKESAROONIE. But it's got to be done. We should be spending more time doing stuff to his house, rather than mine, but it's more fun to do stuff here....because this will be OUR house. I still have a ton of shit to do...but I'm looking at it this way....if I can take out a couple or three extra bags of trash every week, that's something? right?

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here