Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-04-24 - 1:27 p.m.
"This isn't a hospital, it's an insane asylum!"

Quick...what movie is that line from?

MASH. Spoken by Hot Lips. (Sally Kellerman)

Take out the word "hospital" and insert "radio station" and you've got my life.

This place is fucking nuts. We had staff meeting this morning, which is always a gigantic pain in the ass. Luckily, it ended early.

We have cubes here....and they aren't even GOOD cubes. The divider between my space and Drama Queen's space extends maybe 18 inches beyond my desk. The dividers don't go to the ceiling or floor. They're like shower stalls. I'm just a big fat open space. People come into my space and perch on the file cabinet and read the paper, or just perch there. And people just YAMMER. The other day I was eating lunch at me desk and had to have been interrupted four times before I could get through my damn cheeseburger. (which I was rushing through because I had a satellite feed to catch at exactly 2 o'clock) And no one ever gets the idea that maybe I'd like to be left alone for five or ten minutes. It's bizzare. It takes me ten minutes to read a freaking email because I keep getting interrupted. It's like working with toddlers! Thank diety for the afternoons, when things sometimes quiet down.

Had a weird computer thing this afternoon....playlist just got......stuck. It didn't move on after Fresh Air...it just....stayed there. I have no idea what happened, why, or how to prevent it from happening again. We aired the wrong show for half an hour. Drama Queen was in full freak out mode while I was trying to repair it. She is not good in a crisis. "How long is the magazine show?" "uhhhh. I don't know. Let me go call it up". "I need to know so I can backtime it". "Uhhhhh. This is scaring me. I don't know what to do." At that point I got pissy and said "well, you'd figure something out if I just got up and left, wouldn't you?" I mean, shit, I'm making this stuff up as I go along--I'm not some automation oracle.

I've decided to take off next Friday and the following Monday. No one in staff meeting laughed when I said "And I'm not going to answer my phone, either". I'm serious. No radio, no phone, they may as well figure that I'm on the goddamn moon.

In other news, the FDA meeting yesterday regarding Lotronex seemed to indicate that I will eventually be able to get that (for me) life changing miracle drug back. I hope it's in time for the wedding, but it sounds like it'll be cutting it close. It would be great to be able to eat at my own wedding reception.

Enough ranting for now.....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here