Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-12-09 - 11:55 a.m.
Church stuff

Pretty uneventful weekend, but that's ok.

Friday night started out as a normal Friday night..I figured there's be some sleepy sex before we both started snoring away. But something happened, and it ended up being absolutely out of this world wonderful. I mean, better than normal, which is Damn Good. Left us both in "WOW" mode.

Had lunch with my friend J yesterday....she and I periodically lunch, because it's the only time we really have to visit. She is one of those people who is incredibly busy, going a million directions at once, yet when you are with her, you feel like you are the only person in the world, and she has all the time in the world to devote to you. She's most special in that way.

She is also great for "therapy purposes". She can suss out a situation in no time, and tell it like it is. We spent a lot of time talking about stuff at my workplace...she's been a volunteer and involved there for about 20+ years, so she knows the ins and outs as well as anyone. We also chatted a bit about Beloved and me....she knew his ex, it turns out. Anyway, she loves him, and thinks we have a great thing, and she is wonderful for slapping me when I get too out of hand with my worrying and overanalayzation. Interestingly, both she and my dear friend R have said the same thing about Beloved since he "outed" himself to the ex....namely, that I'll be seeing all sorts of emotional rebirth/growth/etc from him. J and R have never met....he lives in CO, for goodness sake! But they are telling me the same thing, almost verbatim. And they are right. I'm hearing things from him, and feeling things from him that are new and touching. He's almost making himself more...I dunno...vulnerable?....in some ways.

Patience and ease, I gotta work on those.

We went to church this morning....here in town, which I find most exciting. We are now church shopping. For our first shopping trip, we chose St Paul's, a very VERY old congregation...founded in the early 1800s, I believe. The church is gorgeous and old fashioned...stained glass, lots of wood....and it was really quite nice to sit there and see the morning sun come in the stained glass windows.

Church Tour

One of Beloved's concerns (and mine, as well) was going into a situation like a church congregation in which the group is already formed...the people know each other, etc, etc. Beloved was really quite nervous about it. But we went in...we joked later that we "panicked" and went immediately upstairs, without getting our bearings (or a bulletin, which meant we had NO idea what was going on in the service, since it was the special Sunday School Advent service), and sat right down. We were right next to the choir loft and the organ, and the acoustics are such that it was hard to understand the hymns. But as we were trying to mumble our way through the first one, I looked across the church, and there I saw one of our station volunteers, the man who does the classical show on Mondays. I turned to Beloved and said "wow, I do know someone here!". After the service, G came right over and said "Welcome to St. Paul's!". Turns out he is an elder, and he made sure to tell us if we have any questions to please ask him. He scored points with me when he said something to Beloved along the lines of "Well, if this is the church you grew up in, you know the good points and the bad points. The pastors tell us what they believe, and the congregants should just decide on their own what to believe". (That's a paraphrase, but I liked it. Too many churches seem to be of the "all or nothing" mindset, and here was an elder telling us to pick and choose.)

Beloved and I both thought seeing him there was a VERY cool coincidence. It's great to have someone we know in the position of answering our questions. It will be MUCH easier now to say "OK, bottom line, what hoops do we REALLY need to jump through?" to someone I know than to someone who doesn't know me from Adam's housecat.

Some might say god had something to do with us choosing this service to start attending that church, and having someone there I know, but I'll just say that fate sometimes works things out.

I mean, I chose it because it was the right "flavor" of Lutheran for Beloved, but my criteria were things like "it's pretty" and "the service isn't too early".

Yeah, god gets a kick outta me, I'm sure.....

So, Beloved has gone home, he says to do some shopping and then to watch Da Bearsssss. We are going to a movie later this afternoon....a non work related movie. I need to tidy up this pit of a house, and maybe make a quick run to the store. Seem to be running low on Diet Rite. A nap might be nice, too.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here