Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-10-20 - 6:11 p.m.
Grammar peeve

Yes, I know I'm being a crotchety old grouch. However, there are some grammar/usage things that I keep coming across that are making me nuts, so I thought I'd list a couple here. And I'll probably list more as they pop up.

1. The spelling of lose. It's counter intuitive, I know, but "loose" means "not tight". If you lose weight, your pants will be loose.

2. The spelling of advice. What you ask for is advice. What I do when I give that advice to you is advise.

3. The plural possessive of parents. It seems lately that everything I read, from stuff on the 'net to newsletters uses "parent's" when it should be "parents'". OK, if you only have one parent, "parent's" is correct. Otherwise, it should be "parents' ".

Yes. I know. I seem rude, and picky, and snotty. I can't help it. Both of my parents were writers, and sometimes the grammar cop stuff just explodes out of me. But these three examples have become so prevalent it seems they're being accepted as correct.

Woo wooo. Grammar cop. Please pull over.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here