Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-10-21 - 2:25 p.m.
Damn rain!

So we didn't get the roof finished. See, there's a rule of nature that in this part of the country, you can't have two nice days in a row in October. Just can't. Mind you, the forecast, as of Friday, said today would be "partly cloudy". So we got back up on the roof to work on the decking well before noon today...I got to his house at 10:30, and he was up there, measuring and patching. The plan was, make the repairs in the decking, the install drip edge, underlayment, and shingles...and be finished today.

Well, all morning, the sky looked a but ominous. The shortly after noon, just as we finshed the decking and started the drip edge.....blammo....the sky just OPENED up. We barely had time to get ourselves off the roof--the tools, including the circular saw, got stranded. And of course, the tarp wasn't big enough to cover the entire roof. So water was just POURING into the breezeway....mixing with the refuse that had been falling through the roof all weekend and making mud soup on the floor. Into The Pickle (my car...a green Forester, christened The Pickle) we hopped, and off to Home Depot we went to get a new tarp. He managed to cover the whole area, and now we just wait till next weekend, I guess.

What a pain in the butt. Yesterday was picture perfect gorgeous...couldn't put in an order for a better day. Then torrents of rain.

It would have been a good chance for a big ol' meltdown on Beloved's part, but he didn't get too upset. I mean, he was justifiably pissed, but he didn't exhibit any behavior that made me thing he has some scary anger management issues. Schwew.

So now I am home, goofing off a bit, but I need to fix up the living room, which looks heinous since I got rid of the couch yesterday. Also need to tidy the kitchen and do some laundry. Must get to grocery in the next few days...I'm running low on all kinds of paper products. Tonight we're going to my parents' for dinner...dad is making chicken parmesean (or however you spell it), which is one of my faves. Also must shower, since I am quite dirty from my construction work and getting caught in the rain.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here