Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-02-05 - 11:24 p.m.
suzy homemaker

Yeah, yeah, long time, nothing but a meme.

For whatever reason, I want to nest in February. Every February, I do something like clean the cupboards, or take up crocheting, or do something else really domestic and completely out of character. Today we cleaned. Still not totally done. Actually, only the downstairs is presentable. The bathroom needs to be hosed down, and the bedrooms...argh. Basement...well, that's the Man Room, and it's hopeless right now. But the public rooms are good, and I'm having friends over next weekend, so that's a necessary thing. Both are stay at home moms, in shiny new Stepford homes, and I want my place to at least look decent.

Cooked and baked today. Made Indonesian Ginger chicken for dinner. YUM. Another Barefoot Contessa recipe.

1 cup honey
3/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup minced garlic (8 to 12 cloves)
1/2 cup peeled and grated fresh ginger root
2 (3 1/2 pound) chickens, quartered, with backs removed

Cook the honey, soy sauce, garlic, and ginger root in a small saucepan over low heat until the honey is melted. Arrange the chicken in 1 layer in a shallow baking pan, skin side down, and pour on the sauce. Cover the pan tightly with aluminum foil. Marinate overnight in the refrigerator.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the baking pan in the oven and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover the pan, turn the chicken skin side up, and raise the temperature to 375 degrees F. Continue baking for 30 minutes or until the juices run clear when you cut between a leg and thigh and the sauce is a rich, dark brown.


I served it over rice. Even Husband liked it, and he's not a fan of anything even vaguely sweet and sour.

I also dragged out the Kitchen Aid and made two batches of cookies (tell me again why I can't lose weight?), chocolate chip bar cookies and oatmeal raisin with butterscotch chips. Let me just say this....I could open a frickin' cookie store they are so good. Most are now in the freezer. I LOVE that mixer. Amazing how fast the dough gets mixed, so thoroughly. And unlike lots of fancy schmantzy appliances, it's SUPER easy to clean. Old design, but they sure got it right.

Saw the shrink on Monday. I cried. I hate when the tears come out of nowhere. But the shrink was kind of hard on me for being hard on myself regarding my weight issues, and it made me cry. The old people pleaser in me....I'm trying to please my shrink, and when I feel I've "disappointed" her, I can't stand it.

I need to see a therapist.

Work is in good control, knock wood. Maybe that's why I don't write as much as I did. The shrink has certainly helped me with the work issues. I think the big thing is that I always think whatever I'm doing/thinking/whatever is wrong. And she's been able to help me convince myself (in some cases) that I'm ok. That I make good decisions, that I'm not always wrong. it's very Stuart Smalley, but sometimes it works. At least it's not the kind of therapy that blames your parents for everything, though I DO have Mom Issues. They aren't bad issues, and my parents really did do ok. Sure, there were problems, and there was weirdness, and my sister and I slammed our doors and screamed "I HATE you" and the usual. And we've both got baggage our parents packed for us, despite their best intentions. And that's why I don't want to spend all my therapy time blaming my parents...they really DID do a good job, overall, we weren't abused, we were loved, we were encouraged. I just got weird wiring and biochemistry that led me to process stuff in a way that isn't always the best for my own mental health.

OK. I'm making no sense. It's late.

Tomorrow, it's off to Home Depot to buy a Black and Decker Scumbuster, so I can attack the tub and tub surround with battery powered gusto. We saw a house earlier in the week, and lemme tell ya, it made our house look pretty good...and makes me want to get it even more spiffed up in the next year or so.

Anyway. Goodnight.


2 comments so far
radiogurl - 2005-02-06 19:01:52
The February nesting instinct must be going around. I worked this weekend and STILL came home to clean and rearrange everything!!!
-------------------------------
LA - 2005-02-07 15:02:47
Your house is more than good, honeybunch. I've seen the pics, and besides, one of the best people in the universe lives in that house so it's extra-special. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here