Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2004-09-09 - 10:16 p.m.
The Stupid Closet

I'm sure I've mentioned the Stupid Closet in this journal before.

It's the ONLY closet on the first floor of our house. It's at the foot of the stairs, and, well, it's stupid.

How stupid? You can't actually USE it for anything. It's so shallow that coats have to be hung sideways.

Here is the floor of Stupid Closet:

I mean. What brain trust of a builder thought this one up!?! I measured. It is about NINE INCHES DEEP. What the hell can you store there?

So I had this brilliant idea last night (only 6 years too late....). Make Stupid Closet into a Decent Pantry. It's on the landing that's between the kitchen and the living room, so I think it would work. If we can buy shelves, fine, if not, Husband can make some. Stupid Closet is deep enough that I can store an appliance or two, maybe some cookbooks, and all manner of canned goods.

Here's a shot from the stairs:

That's Millie the cat on the floor. Note how it's not even a walk in for a cat....

The living room is to the left. The closet door is to the right, behind, that, a door to the kitchen. We will remove that door, and Husband is going to try to flip the closet door so it's more practical to use from the kitchen.

Anyway.

Final measurements? 77 inches high, 44 wide and NINE deep. I can gain another inch if I remove moldings and trim. Have to figure out what to do with the walls, too. That's not paint, that's some weird ass wallpaper that's been there since fire was invented. I DO NOT want to remove it. I may try priming and painting over it.

So. Yeah. Spent part of the day moping because I was SO CLOSE to another opportunity in a place I would REALLY like to live....then I got over it and started googling "kitchen remodel". Really, we just need a paint job, new ceiling (what is it with this house and crappy ceilings?), and I want a new sink and faucet. No big woo, right?

Heh. Now. Off to find pantry planning ideas.

1 comments so far
LA - 2004-09-10 08:24:07
What a great idea! That is a VERY dumb closet. Turning it into a pantry would use that space effectively. I hate to sound tacky, but how long was my gift Super gold for? My regular gold ran out and Andrew shut me off completely. If you bought me a year then by my reckoning I have 5-6 months left. Damn Andrew. He never answers questions or helps with problems. By the time I get this settled everything will have lapsed. Average Andrew response time is 8 months. Sheesh. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here