Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-07-31 - 8:55 p.m.
Goodbyes

My work spouse left today. As a going away gift, I gave him two CDs...one a Julie London compilation, and another of a local band that we've recorded together on a couple of occasions. He seemed to like them. When it was time for him to go, he came into the studio where I was working to say his goodbye.

We hugged. And both started to cry. I said "I wasn't going to cry", and he said "neither was I". Then we hugged and cried some more. He said he knew our goodbye would be hard. We laughed a little, and he was gone.

Gone. After 24 years at a place, doing something he loved (at least 24 years ago). And you know what? After he was gone, there was an emptiness in the building. It felt like he was gone. But we've got some gallows humor going among those of us who are left, and we'll muddle through. I've GOT to muddle through, what with being queen and all.....

Speaking of being queen....I told the boss I want to talk with him about money. I'm gonna have to be strong on this one. I know about the neighborhood of work spouse's salary, and I want to live near that neighborhood.

In other news, wedding invitations went out yesterday, and in town people got theirs today...had two people tell me that this afternoon. So I guess I'll start getting replies next week. I'm psyched about that!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here