Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2006-07-27 - 9:48 p.m.
RSVPs and other annoyances

OK, so for the invites for our party next weekend, I used Evite. Person gets an email, clicks to look at the invitation, and can rsvp RIGHT THERE. No icky phone calls, just click.

As of now, a week after the invites and a week before the party, HALF of the guest list hasn't replied. And I know they've seen the invites, because Evite tells you when it was read.

Honestly. We need to know if we should buy one bucket of margaritas or two.....

What else? Glad I have shrink next week, because I have a coworker who is really a co irker right now. Heh. Maybe not just one.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE our new engineer. LOVE.

One of the Divas is on vacation. That is always nice.

Watched the new season of "30 Days". Great show. Gets you thinking. This episode was about illegal immigration. Eye opening. I don't know how our system should be fixed, but something needs to happen. I come from recent immigrants...my grandparents and one of my uncles. My uncle left Hungary in 1956 during the uprising. Twenty one years old, in the Hungarian army. Couldn't swim. Jumped in a canal and swam to Austria. He didn't know where he was going to end up. He was leaving the only home and family he knew. Think about it. How DESPERATE do things have to be for a person to do that? And that was something this episode of "30 Days" explored a bit. It's not just "hey, let's go to America". It's "Hey, we literally can't put a roof over our heads here....we have to do something".

Anyway.

Tomorrow after work, we CLEAN in preparation for the in laws. the place is decent enough right now......so we should be able to knock it out pretty quickly. Saturday, we have some outside chores, and of course food prep. Hard to know what to make for his family. Boring/picky eaters. Instant mashed potatoes for thanksgiving kind of people. I made cucumber salad and carrot salad for a family gathering last month, and only two people even TRIED them. Sheesh. Not like it was live eels wrapped in bacon.... So anyway....probably burgers and beans and the usual.

The insomnia is getting out of hand. I should just give in and drink the tranquilitea at ten or eleven, and not wait until it's 1:30 and OBVIOUS that I'm not going to fall asleep..... I'm tired, I just don't get it. My brain races, and I can't get comfy, and boom...I just can't let go and sleep.
But the tea DOES work.

2 comments so far
radiogurl - 2006-07-28 00:06:08
Re: insomnia - melatonin about half an hour before bedtime. More effective for me than a sleeping pill but no hangover sensibilities in the morning - plus it has other benefits. As for the diva syndrome, as you well know, I am all too familiar with it...
-------------------------------
zen - 2006-07-28 22:50:25
maybe you should serve live eels in bacon? perhaps that is what they like?...~zen
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here