Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2006-02-05 - 2:47 p.m.
Too much month at the end of my money

Gah. We are out of money.

I mean, no, we aren't going to be evicted or repo'd or have the utilities turned off. We just have cash flow issues. Husband gets paid every other Thursday. I get paid on the 15th of the month and the last day of the month. Sometimes that works great...we get a payday every week. Now we are on the paid in the same week mode, and for whatever reason, that doesn't work well for us.

The money stuff is depressing sometimes. We're ok. We're comfy, even. But not to the point that we don't question the necessity of everything. That's the first place Husband goes when I want to do something to the house. "How are we going to pay for this?"

And yeah. I get jealous of people around me. My friends from school are stay at home moms in nicer neighborhoods with nicer "stuff" than me.

Whatever. Whine. Whine whine. I've put some stuff up on ebay, which should get me a decent amount of lunch money. And we can't be too bad off if we're going to FL at the end of the month. OK. To see my parents. To stay with my aunt and uncle. And we bought the tix with xmas money from my parents. So we aren't totaly spendthrift poor mouthers.

Anyway. Did my ebay listing. Husband is out finding a LOOOONG printer cable, in hopes he can get the stupid printer working upstairs. It hasn't worked since we went wireless. Keep your fingers crossed. I'm getting tired of planning all my printing for work!

I got the book You're Wearing THAT? and sent a copy to my mom and sister. It's Deborah Tannen's new one, about how mothers and daughters communicate. I figured it might be good for us all to study before we are all together at the end of the month. Cuz GOD knows we can push each other's buttons. In fact I made sure I had a shrink appt almost immediately following my return from the parents. All that by way of saying I need to get on the stick and READ the book before the trip. Perhaps I will huddle in the corner of the sofa and do that. Have skating tonight at 6, then I will spend the rest of the evening doing my best to avoid the world's most overhyped sporting event.

Yeah. I'm around. And not doing bad or well. Just doing. There are many things going through my brain. The futility of fighting the powers that be in our government. My crazy farm of an office. My desire to make my house nicer than I can afford to make it. Vanity. (I've been turning over a vanity entry in my mind for a long time) Friendships.

Lots of stuff. but nothing worth much effort.

2 comments so far
radiogurl - 2006-02-05 20:29:59
I hear you - We're pushing the limits of our finances right now and the kids have their hands out, too. It's never enough *sigh*
-------------------------------
LA - 2006-02-06 09:15:32
I'd very much like to hear your thoughts on vanity. It's an issue I struggle with. What's the limit on being rightfully proud of accomplishment and where does 'showing off' begin? Cool car, nice house, excellent earrings, do I want those things because I like them and worked for them or do I just want to make a splash to feed my ego? Eagerly awaiting your take on the subject. ~LA
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here